Texas

Need to get some equipment for catering
or competition?  Go to ABest Kitchen and Bar Company !!!

 

Cooper's Old Time Pit BBQ
Texas Highway 29
Llano, TX
915-247-5713

Meat  5
Sides  3
Sauce  3
Service  5
Atmosphere  5

Overall  5

Reviewer's Comments:  This place is ranked as one of the best in Texas. They use only a salt and coarse black pepper rub and smoke over mesquite coals. You walk by the last pit closest to the doorand pick which cut of meat you want. They have eveythingfrom pork ribs (the best!) to cabrito, (BBQ'ed goat). Afteryou choose, you take it inside to get cut and weighed thengrab your side dishes, or jusat load up on the jalepeno pinto beans, all you can eat.  My personal favorites arethe pork ribs and brisket. I am more than  willing to drivethe 1 1/2 hours from Austin to eat here!

Reviewed By:  Dave Clark  ( dclark@bga.com ) on 11/2/97

The Ranch House
Highway 59 at Corporate Drive Exit
Sugar Land, TX

Meat  3
Sides  1.5
Sauce  2
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  1.5

Overall  2

Reviewer's Comments:  There's only one reason to visit this establishment--and why they've received several visits from me.  In Houston, Texas (of which Sugar Land is a suburb) pulled pork is hard to find.  When the pork craving overcomes me and I don't have time to make my own, The Ranch House is "slightly better than nothing."

Reviewed By:  Jayni  ( pooberry@mindless.com ) on 9/19/97

Southside Mkt & B-B-Q
1212 Hwy 290 West
Elgin, TX
512-281-4650

Meat  4.5
Sides  3
Sauce  4
Service  5
Atmosphere  3

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Ol Time meat mkt & bbq joint, they may know what they doing by now, as they being making the Elgin Hot Sausages & BBQ since 1882, I had the Sausage & Pork dinner on 1 to 5, the Sausage has to be a 6 or 7 very good, pulled pork was good too, about a 3.5, they only have 27 different Sides each days, all look outstanding  tryed the beans & Fresh Turnips Greens, almost went back & got more as both rated a 4, also has some of their Peach Cobble which they serve with Blue Bell Ice Cream on top. not cheap but very good, well it was so good I brought 20 pounds of fresh Sausage to smoke also two loaves of their homemake Bread, well worth the 100 mile drive for lunch Sunday

Reviewed By:  Belly & Suzy Maynard ( bamgrtx@itexas.net ) on 11/02/97.

Louie Mueller's BBQ
Texas Highway 79
Taylor, TX
(800)580-6687

Meat  4.5
Sides  3
Sauce  3.5
Service  4
Atmosphere  5

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:   Here's another "Best in Texas" Q joint. It's about 30-45 minutes north of Austin. The atmosphere is right on for a Q joint.  There's the post oak fired pit in the center of an old building on Main Street. Green walls stained with  smoke and the smell of smoke permeates the air.  Old hardwood floors and old tables and picnic tables inside. A board full of business cards from all the way back to who-knows-when covers one wall. They  offer brisket, sausage, ribs, chicken, pork steaks, T-bone steaks, and sides of potato salad, beans, or slaw. I chose a 1/2 lb of brisket, 1 sausage,  and 2 pork ribs. The meats have only salt and pepper rub, and were delicious. I must not be a big fan of sausage, because theirs tasted just like eveyone elses.  Their sauce is a tomato-onion mix that is so-so. Overall, this place is authentic Texas Q and should not be missed during a trip to Central Texas. They have a web site at http://www.texasbbq.com

Reviewed By:  Dave Clark ( dclark@bga.ocm ) on 11/10/97.

Hutchins Bar B Q & Catfish
1301 N Tennessee St
Mc Kinney, TX
(214) 548-2629

Meat  4
Sides  1.5
Sauce  4
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  3.5

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  I was visiting my parents and ate here twice.  The first time we got some meat to go, brisqet.  It was good, but kinda dry.  We bought it earlier in the day, and reheated it. This may have been my bad.  We went later in the week and ate there.  I had the 3 meat combo (beef, ribs, and hot links).  The beef was great, the ribs good, and the hot links good.  The sauce was a good spicy sauce that was a good complement to all meats.  The sides need some work, the slaw was very dry and not much flavor. The beans tasted like Ranch Style canned beans.  They are good beans, but I expect better.  Service was good, and the building was nice (old country barn decore).  I was impressed with all but the sides.  They have soft serve ice cream and cobbler for dessert at no extra charge!  A good place for BBQ when in the Mc Kinney area.

Reviewed By:  Wyndell Ferguson ( Circlef@the-link.net ) on 11/5/97.

Kreuz Market
207 S. Commerce
Lockhart, TX
512-398-2361

Meat  5
Sides  1
Sauce  1
Service  4
Atmosphere  5

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  This is the third of the Texas Monthy magazine's Top 3 Texas Q joints. I finally made it there, and while the meat was incredible, I was disappointed that there was no sauce, nor any sides other thanpickles, onions, jalapenos, and advacaods. No beans, no sauce, but that's how Kreuz likes it. Still, this place screams of authenticity. It's been in the same building since 1900, passed down through the family, and sold to a long-time employee, who passed it down through his family. When you enter, smoke smell immediately hits youin the face, and as you approach the pit, the flames of the wood lick your feet as you wait your turn. They do not offer ribs or chicken, just brisket, shoulder, pork chops, sausage and pork loin.  I give the meat a hearty thumbs up, but would have liked a light sauce to sprinkle on it.  Sure do wish theyhad some sides, but the atmosphere is all Q. They giveyou your meat on butcher paper with a plastic knife,no fork, and you won't get one even if you ask for one... Seating is in a large hall-like room with long tables, and green, dingy, smoke stained walls. Worth the trip if in the Austin area!!!

Reviewed By:  Dave Clark ( dclark@bga.com ) on 12/4/97.

Joe's Barbecue
Hwy 6 @ Hwy 35
Alvin, TX


Meat  4.5
Sides  4
Sauce  3
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  3.5

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Not that far from Houston and the best Q in the area.

Reviewed By:  T. Patrick Culp ( tpculp@pinnacleweb.com ) on 12-28-97.

Joe's
Alvin, TX

Meat  5
Sides  4
Sauce  4
Service  4
Atmosphere  3

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  I'm a Q freak too.  Someone told me about your site and I came to post my favorite and amazingly it was already here.

This is just a confirmation that Joe's in Alvin, TX is supurb.

Reviewed By:  jevans ( jevans ) on .

Rib Ticklers
Tomball, TX

Meat  4
Sides  2.5
Sauce  2.5
Service  3
Atmosphere  3

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  The brisket is great; moist, tender and has good bark.  The pork ribs are outstanding, far better than most comnercial places.  The sausage is OK, the chicken is decent, the ham is well below average, more like cold cuts than any real ham.  The sides are below average as well, but the brisket and ribs more than make up for it.  The sauce is the typical, too sweet and thick style, I prefer the thin, spicy, vinegary type myself.  As a bonus, they have a good non-BBQ menu. The chicken fried steak is the best I've had so far in Houston, and they have good fried shrimp as well.  This is good if if you're stuck with a group that aren't into BBQ, you can still talk them into going.  If you're serious about BBQ, you probably only care about the brisket and ribs, so in that light this place shines.

Reviewed By:  Peter Sierant ( peter.sierant@compaq.com ) on 3/2/98.

The Texaco Station
on 1431 towards Lago Vista Rt 1431 across from the police station
Cedar Park, TX

Meat  4
Sides  2
Sauce  4
Service  3
Atmosphere  5

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  Yes, it's a regular Texaco station.  However, a few seemingly random days a week for a few hours a day, they make some outstanding BBQ.  The sausage is the best I've ever tasted, the brisket is nearly perfect, and the sauce very decent.  They also take these few items and serve them under several unpronouncable Mexican names, with jalepenos, spices, and other stuff, excellent.  The atmoshpere, well, it's just a run-down gas station, but I was so suprised to smell, then see decent Q that I like it.

Reviewed By:  Peter Sierant ( peter.sierant@compaq.com ) on 3/2/98.

Cooper's
Llano, tx

Meat  4.5
Sides  4
Sauce  4
Service  5
Atmosphere  4

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  We had pork ribs and brisket and both were very good.  The sides were also very good, but I thought the beans needed "something", maybe a little more seasoning.  The sauce that the meat was dipped in prior to slicing was sufficient, we did not need additional sauce.  The service is more a cafeteria style in that you pick your cut of meat then it is sliced after you pick it.  Everyone was very helpful and the place was kept as clean as one could expect with probably a hundred or more people eating bbq. Everyone sitting around us were very talkative, it is just a great place to eat Q.  I don't remember ever eating Q this good, the only reason I didn't give it a 5 on all catagories is that I have to think there is a better place out there so I can keep trying new places.  You never know, Maybe someday ?????

Reviewed By:  Don Tucker ( don_tucker@comsys.rockwell.com ) on 11 March 1998.

County Line
Austin, Tx

Meat  3
Sides  3
Sauce  4
Service  2
Atmosphere  3

Overall  3

Reviewer's Comments:  County Line BBQ in Austin did not impress me, the prices were way too high for the quality of the Q.  There was nothing great about the sides, although I did like their sauce.  The service was terrible, we were in there on Wednesday night about 7:30 and it was almost impossible to find our waitress to get more iced tea.

There are too many bbq places in and around Austin to waste one's time at the County Line.

Reviewed By:  Don Tucker ( don_tucker@comsys.rockwell.com ) on 11 March 1998.

The Salt Lick
Austin, Tx

Meat  4
Sides  4
Sauce  4
Service  4.5
Atmosphere  5

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  The first time I ever saw this place, I thought the wait for a table would be several hours.  There must have been 1000 people standing around waiting to be called.  It did take us 90 minutes, but, hey, that ain't so bad if you have cold beer. The Q is cooked over an open pit, probably one of the last open pit bbq places in Texas.  I usually get the combo plate that has ribs (pork), brisket and sausage and the price is 9 bucks (it may be 10, I forget).  But, for just another couple of bucks after you have ordered the plate, you can be upgraded to "all you can eat" and boy do they put a pile of q out there for you.  Everything is really good, but I usually tend to concentrate on the meats and forget most of the sides.  One thing you won't want to forget is the blackberry cobbler with some Blue Bell on top, it is wonderful. This is my Son's favorite bbq place and I do not hesitate to go there with him, even if I am paying.

Reviewed By:  Don Tucker ( don_tucker@comsys.rockwell.com ) on 11 March 1998.

Ken Hall's
Fredericksburg, Tx

Meat  3
Sides  3.5
Sauce  3.5
Service  2.5
Atmosphere  4

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  We were there during the afternoon (2:30 or so) on Sunday afternoon and the kids working there wanted to go home, so the service was not good.  It is a kinda self service place, so the people working there don't have to do much and these kids did exactly that, not much.  I ordered ribs and my wife got brisket and neither one had much of a smoke taste, they were both tender but not as juicy as I like and zero for smoke.  The sides are just run of the mill, they don't stand out one way or the other.  The place was almost empty (one other person) when we arrived and no one else came in, so it was quiet and has an old west look with old boots and stuff all around.  With lots of folks there, it could be a great place to eat.

I will go back sometime and see if we just hit it at a bad time and day, it is worth another try.

Reviewed By:  Don Tucker ( don_tucker@comsys.rockwell.com ) on 11 March 1998.

Anthony's Famous Pit BBQ
Tyler, TX

Meat  4
Sides  4
Sauce  4.5
Service  4
Atmosphere  4

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  As we pulled into the parking lot, we saw smoke pouring from the wood fired pits out back and smelled it when we got out of the car. Inside, there is a walkup window where you place your order, pick up your food and then find a table. I had a sliced brisked sandwich. They slice it as they make it. The brisket was nice and tender, not dry, with a good, smoky flavor. They have a regular and a sweet sauce that are the style of sauce I like with Texas brisket. They didn't have a hint of sugar and were strong on the chili powder. The hot had a nice bite to it.

Against my advice, my wife Irene ordered chicken. The menu on the wall listed chicken plate "on special request". I don't think most Texas BBQ joints get a high demand for chicken. Beef is king. Anyway, the chicken was overcooked and kind of dried out. If you go there stick to the beef and you can't go wrong.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

The Iron Works
Austin, TX

Meat  3.5
Sides  3.5
Sauce  3.5
Service  3
Atmosphere  3.5

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  The Iron Works is located in downtown Austin. They cook their BBQ in a huge Southern Pride commercial cooker, not a classic wood burner, but they have some pretty tasty BBQ. You order from a walk-up window and can order either a plate or BBQ and sides by the pound. The brisket was a little dry. The beef ribs and pork ribs were good, though. The sauce was a little sweet for my taste.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

Angelo's Barbecue
2533 White Settlement
Fort Worth, TX
332-0357

Meat  5
Sides  4
Sauce  4
Service  5
Atmosphere  4.5

Overall  5

Reviewer's Comments:  Excellent barbeque, cold beer on tap. Waitress service in front dining room only. Stockshow and Casa Manana favorite for cowboys and actors alike. Closed Sunday.

Reviewed By:  Wanda Ozee ( a0010393@airmail.net ) on 3/2/98.

Dyer's Bar-B-Que
I-40 & Georgia (Wellington Square)
Amarillo, TX
(806) 358-7104

Meat  4
Sides  4
Sauce  3
Service  4
Atmosphere  3

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Overall good food found at Dyer's.  Take the Georgia Exit off I-40 and head north about a block. Dyer's is on the west side of Georgia.  The evaluation was done on their 3 meat combination plate ($9.95)  The plate had pork ribs, brisket, and sausage.  Sides included potatoe salad, cole slaw, pinto beans, onion rings, a pepper sampler (3 types of peppers), apricot sauce, dipping sauce, and Texas toast.  All the sides were very good. Ribs, sausage, and brisket were also very good but the brisket was tender but a little dry.  Dyer's has a very robust menu of smoked meats and sides.  Numerous #1 cooking awards were on display.  Dyer's also has locations in Pampa and Wichita Falls. 

Reviewed By:  Rodney Leist ( leistr@mailexcite.com ) on 09 March 1998.

Cattle Call B-B-Q Restaurant
Westgate Mall I-40 West
Amarillo, TX
(806) 353-1227

Meat  3
Sides  3.5
Sauce  3
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  3.5

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Not bad for a mall restaurant.  Combination plate allowed a wide choice of meats. The brisket, sausage, rib plate contained 2 pork ribs, short link of sausage, and thick slice of brisket.  Sides included beans, potatoe salad, cole slaw, pickles, onion rings, apricot sauce, and toasted bread. Meats were very moist and tender but light on smoked flavor. All sides were good. Meats had a drizzle of sauce and no extra sauce was served with the meal. The 3 meat combination plate $8.95) was a hefty meal.  Nice atmosphere with lots of barbeque sauce and hot sauce bottles on display and for sale.

Reviewed By:  Rodney Leist ( leistr@mailexcite.com ) on 11 March 1998.

Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q
24152 IH-10 West
Leon Springs (w. of San Antonio), TX
(210) 698-0418

Meat  3
Sides  3
Sauce  3
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  4

Overall  3

Reviewer's Comments:  Got to Rudy's with 4 other friends and it looked great, lots of picnic tables on covered patios, huge brick smoker with two large smokestacks comming out of them.  They were formed on a 90 degree angle, the fire pit sat in the corner of this with the two smoking arangements off each side.  They would put logs in the fire pit and then the smoke was drawn up into each smoking chamber.  We went in and you first order your sides where they put them in a large basket lined with white butcher paper.  I selected the Beans(.79) and the Peach Cobbler(1.60) and then you move down to select your meat.  One neat thing about Rudy's is that all of their meat is priced by the pound so you just order what you think you can eat. Brisket 6.95/lb, Turkey 7.95/lb, Pork Loin 8.95/lb, Chicken 3.50/half, Sausage 1.85/link, Chopped 4.99/lb, Baby Back Ribs 10.95/rack, Beef Short Ribs 8.95/lb, Pork Ribs 6.95/lb. I selected 4 ribs and I think it was just a little over a 1/2 lb.  The other guys had either turkey or chicken.  The chicken looked pretty good.  The ribs were OK, a little greasy but they were cooked nakid, maybe a little salt/pepper but that was it.  The table sauce was a red tomatoe based sauce but seem to contain allot of vinegar and tons of cracked pepper.  It was pretty hot.  The beans were pretty spicey also. I wasn't impresses with the taste too much their was alot of smoke flavor.  The ambiance was pretty good and overall I'd give it 3 out of 5 bones on my 5 bone rating scale (5=best). Oh yeah, they gave me 5 slices of White Bread, why do they do that?  I told them two would be plenty...

Reviewed By:  Mark Antry ( antrym@xmission.com ) on 3/19/98.

The Barbecue Station
1610 Northeast Loop 410  (near Harry Wurzbach Road)
San Antonio, TX
(210) 824-9191

Meat  4
Sides  4
Sauce  3
Service  4
Atmosphere  4.5

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  Owner:  Bobby Peacock Got there about 11:30 on a Saturday for an early lunch.  This place didn't look like much from the outside but once we got inside it was great.  Alot of neat stuff hanging around and on the walls.  Stepped up to the counter and my friend had the usual turkey with Slaw and beans and I selected the Combo plate with Brisket and Pork Ribs (6.95).  This again was served up on White butcher paper with two slices of bread. The beans you serve yourself out of a crock pot out in the dinning area, which was nice.  The beans where your standard texas beans, just plain with a little seasoning.  They were good.  The brisket had about a 1/4" smoke ring and tasted OK.  The ribs however had a heavy rub on them and were fall off the bone tender and VERY good.  I'd like my ribs to be that tender.  I wonder how I do that without drying them out and without using foil.  Or I guess I can try the foil but then put them back on the smoker to dry them out a little before serving.  They were very good. We sat inside but learned later there was paito dinning out back. Sauces were on the side and was pretty good, but I prefer a sweet darker sauce.  It was very good overall, paper towels in dispensers at each table.  Overall 4.5 bones out of 5.  With my sauce it would have been 5 out of 5 bones (5=best).

Reviewed By:  Mark Antry ( antrym@xmission.com ) on 3/21/98.

Baker's Ribs
4844 Greenville Ave.
Dallas, TX
(214) 373-0082

Meat 4.5
Sides 4
Sauce 4
Service 5
Atmosphere 5

Overall 4.5

Reviewer's Comments: This was as close to a joint as you can get in Dallas. There are three locatations, I visited the one one Greenville. The place was real simple, no frills. Home made booths and tables. The brisket had great smoke taste and good color as were the ribs, both were moist and tender. The beans were ranch style and not over powering with chilli. The slaw seemed to be home made as was the potato salad, and served with my favorite Texas Toast. The pit was an A.N. Bewley 11', made in Dallas. The employees were very friendly and attentive. This is as close to what I want in a joint, if I were to own one, very simple, now frills, and great food. I rate this place at the top of the list if you visit Dallas, Tx.

Reviewed By: Jack Reaves ( dijax@infospeedway.net ) on 4/17/98.

Country Tavern
Hwy 31
Kilgore, Tx

Meat 5
Sides 4
Sauce 3
Service 4
Atmosphere 3

Overall 4

Reviewer's Comments: As the name implies, this is a tavern located just about midway between Tyler and Kilgore, Texas on Highway 31. The atmosphere is "tavern dark". In fact, when coming into the business out of the sun, it takes about two minutes for your eyes to adjust. The required dance floor and pool table are evident as are the longnecks. The main menu item is ribs. In fact, that constitutes by far the majority of their business. They are served one way, plated with potato salad, Texas toast and pickle spears. The sauce is on the table but don't bother. The price is a bit high at around $10 but the ribs cannot be beat. They are probably the best I have ever eaten. In fact, on the rare occasion that they are out of ribs, politely find another place to eat - nothing else on their menu comes close. If you are in this part of the world you owe it to yourself to try these ribs.

Ratings: I have rated ONLY the ribs and the service. The other areas, sides and etc. are secondary.

Reviewed By: Glenn Manning ( gmanning@ionet.net ) on April 22, 1998.

Cooper's Old Time Pit
Young Street
Llano, Tx.
?

Meat 5
Sides 5
Sauce 5
Service 5
Atmosphere 5

Overall 5

Reviewer's Comments: It just doesn't get any better than this!
'Best, Jon

Reviewed By: Jon Henderson ( jhender160@aol.com ) on 4/30/98.

The Pit Downtown Barbecue
501 East 5th Street
Austin, TX
(512)478-1166

Meat 2
Sides 2
Sauce 3.5
Service 4
Atmosphere 2.5

Overall 2.5

Reviewer's Comments: Tried this place while drinkin' and shootin' pool on a Saturday afternoon. Not sure of the history of the place, but it seems to have been there awhile. The use live oak wood to smoke the meats. They offer brisket, sausage, ribs, turkey, and chopped beef. The brisket was on the dry side, but had a good smoke ring. The turkey was moist, but very little smoke flavor. The sides musta come from a can, pretty basic. The sauce was probably the best thing they had. I got the spicy, and while not too spicy, it was very good. Service was fast and friendly, and it is served cafeteria style, but it's on those hard plastic plates like you got in school. All i could ask was, "Where's the butcher paper?" I doubt I'll make a return visit anytime soon, but it could have been an off day for the meats. I know the sides are a thumbs down, though.

Reviewed By: Dave Clark ( dclark@bga.com ) on 5/16/98.

New Braunfels Smokehouse
New Branfels, Tx

Meat 1.5
Sides 3
Sauce 1
Service 3
Atmosphere 3.5

Overall 1.5

Reviewer's Comments: Did not try any sides and Fergy doesn't give a way out. Anyway, I ordered a sliced brisket sandwhich and got crockpot bbq. A few onions and pickles to go with it. The store is nice, but is WAY over priced..When you go by, don't stop... Go find a McDonald's or something. This was so bad that I paid for it all night even after taking alka-seltzer!

Reviewed by: Rocky Hurley ( rhurley@carbon.cudenver.edu ) on 5-26-98.

Southside Market and BBQ
Elgin, Tx

Meat 4.5
Sides 3
Sauce 3
Service 3
Atmosphere 3.5

Overall 3.5

Reviewer's Comments: I walked in this place and the smell was awesome! I got me some gut (beef sausage) a couple of pork ribs and a beef rib. It came with Lance Saltines. The sausage was real good...Not much smoke flavor, but good none the less. The pork and beef ribs were great! Both had plenty of meat on them and the smoke flavor was very present! Their hot sauce was mild and the mild was flavorful. I tried it on the meat, but it was not really needed. The meat was fina as is. If your ever by there, Stop in and have some good food! One friendly worker there said they sold 11,000 pounds of fresh and cooed sausage last weekend in two days. His name was Gary Cleveland. Nice guy!

Reviewed by: Rocky Hurley ( rhurley@carbon.cudenver.edu ) on 5-27-98.

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
11570 Research Blvd.
Austin, TX
(512)418-9898

Meat 3
Sides 2.5
Sauce 3
Service 3.5
Atmosphere 3.5

Overall 3

Reviewer's Comments: I decided to give 'em one more chance. I got a 1/2 pound of lean brisket, a single of potato salad, and a Big Red. The best part was the Big Red. The brisket had a nice smoke ring, but it was dry as the Texas Hill Country in the drought of 1996. The sauce was needed, badly. My friend got the regular brisket, having tried the lean previously, and said it wasn't too bad. The potato salad was your average take it or leave it stuff. They also offer turkey, sausage, pork ribs, and prime rib. Brisket was $4.49/half lb for lean. Their neat little slogan is "The worst BBQ in Texas." Well it ain't the worst, but darned if they ain't close... I've learned my lesson. Like me and my friend tell everyone, "Nothing beats Cooper's in Llano!" By the way, for some strange reason FOX7's, the local FOX TV affiliate, viewers voted this place the best in Austin. Those folks need to get out more...

Reviewed by: Dave Clark ( dclark@bga.com ) on 6/4/98.

Black's BBQ
Lockhart, TX

Meat: 5
Sides: 4
Sauce: 3.5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5

Overall: 5

Reviewer's Comments:  Actually didn't try the sides. I supposedly missed his best stuff, the pork loin.

Reviewed by:  Bart Law ( blaw@flash.net ) on 7/31/98.

Cooper's Old Time Pit BBQ
Texas Highway 29
Llano, TX
915-247-5713

Meat: 5
Sides: 4.5
Sauce: 3.5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5

Overall: 5

Reviewer's Comments: Llano Texas has to be the barbecue center of the world. Brother's Barbecue, Inman's Turkey Sausage and Q and Cooper's are within a couple hundred yards of each other. And, if that isn't enough, The Hungry Hunter is amongst them--no cue, but outstanding home cooking. If God ever dicided to award the prize for most and best barbecue in the world, He'd set it down in the middle of the Mason Highway in Llano about a mile west of Highway 16 & 29 intersection.

Reviewed by:  Chuck Bearden ( cbear@rnet.com ) Spring 98, but a bunch of times.

Buck's Steaks & Bar-B-Que
103 S.W. Georgia Avenue
Sweetwater, TX
915-235-4049

Meat: 2.5
Sauce: 2.5
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 3

Reviewr's Comments: Buck's is located on the South side of I-20 and is visible from the interstate. The mesquite smoked meats and the sides are served cafeteria style after ordering from the table. Both the sausage and beef had a slightly off taste which tasted more like bad wood than poor fire handling. The two meat combo was $7.95. The mesquite smoked hamburger was a pre-formed patty, ok but nothing special. I would probably go back if I was in the area and couldn't find another Q-joint to try.

Reviewd By: Rodney Leist (leistr@mailexcite.com) on October 1998.

Black's BBQ
215 N Main
Lockhart, TX
512-398-2712

Meat 2.5
Sauce 4
Sides 5
Service 2.5
Atmosphere 4.5

Overall 3.5

Reviewer's Comments: Well, I too missed the pork loin so I got brisket, ham and sausage. The brisket was pretty good, not too dry, but could have used more smoke, I thought. The sausage was really greasy, wasn't too fond of it. The ham, well it tasted like it just came off the store shelf, no smoke whatsoever. The sauce saved the ham. Very good tangy-sweet sauce. I took a cup full home for the turkey I had leftover. The saving grace was the pinto beans. Best damn beans I ever had! I kid you not! I don't know what they did to them, or how they cooked them, except they seemed to have a lot of chopped brisket in them I think. I would buy beans by the barrel from these guys. All in all, not a bad experience, they must be good to be in business for over 60 years. I will try again someday...

Reviewd by:  Dave Clark ( davec@jump.net ) on 12-28-98

Williams Smokehouse
5903 Wheatley
Houston, TX

Meat 5
Sauce 3.5
Sides 3
Service 4
Atmosphere 4.5

Overall 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Williams Smokehouse is a small, friendly, family run joint located in a residential neighborhood in a poor section of Houston. The building itself, however, it clean and well-kept, with a brick chimney for the built-in pit and a stack of oak in the back. Very small, only about 7 tables. The Q is exceptional, with top marks for the ribs and spicy homemade beef sausage. The brisket is also top notch, great smoke flavor and fork tender. The ribs deserve mention, about 4 lb pork spares, St Loius cut, tender, but not mushy, great faintly crispy bark, sauce on request. Sauce is thick and spicy, like Stubb's, use sparingly, but meat is so good you should eat it dry. This is true Q, no falling-apart boiled or baked stuff. All is dry rubbed and smoked, then stored in foil for serving. Sides are good, nothing special. Peach Cobbler is above average. The best in Houston, one of the best in Texas, therefore the world. Closed Sunday and Monday.

Reviwed by: Peter Sierant ( flipper@io.com ) on 1/28/99

The Pit
Duncanville, TX

Meat 5
Sauce 5
Sides 4.5
Service 5
Atmosphere 5

Overall 5

Reviewer's Comments:  This place is just about perfect. The Q is good and plentiful.

Ribs :

The ribs here are covered in a very thin SLIGHTLY sweet and peppery glaze. Almost all of the fat is gone and the meat is pull off the bone tender

Brisket :

The best I have ever eaten anywhere outside of my own. The brisket is very very lean, moist and juicy. It is trimmed by an old hand who knows his briskets. In short, if you could envision the way you would want your own brisket to be when everybody was coming for a party.

Sausage :

The sausage here is cooked just the way I like it. Judging by the line ahead of me I was not alone on this. It is a full case sausage with the fat cooked out of it. Too many Q places simply warm the precooked sausage and slice it up. NOT the Pit. The sausage here is lean, juicy and smoked with the full flavor or a mix of hickory and mesquite.

All the meats we have tried here can be sliced with a fork. The service is outstanding and they genuinely care if you like the food.

The reason I give the sides a 4.5 is the side order of french fries is less than the bushel basket size I prefer.

Go there, but be prepared, you will best suited to drive an RV out here this food will put you right to sleep it is so satisfying. Be sure and take you a wheel chair for the trip back to the RV.

Don't go on Fridays, the line is already too long and I don't want you to be ahead of me.

Reviewed by: Quentin Isley ( qi@gte.net ) on 1/28/99.

Casey's Bar-B-Q and Smoked Meats
3619 N Panam Expwy
San Antonio, TX
(210) 212-6400

Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 3
Sides: 2.5
Service: 1.5
Atmosphere: 4.5

Overall: 3

Reviewer's Comments:  Best meat in San Antonio. Owner needs to improve sides- flat tasting, don't match the meat quality. Biggest negative, the help. Almost rude. Counter Girl's first remark was "what do you want", her next remark was how much it cost. Owner needs to decide wheather he is in the Bar-b-q business or bank business. Felt the portions were to small for the price ask. Even though the building was well decorated, clean (really nice for a Bar-b-q joint), the place lacked the experience of an owner that does not know what it takes to get return business--It is hard to describe why one business will outshine another. I guess to-sum-it-up. from the price of the beer to the price of the food I felt that Casey only had one thing in mind, that was how much money did I have on me.

Reviewed By: Tom Moreland (janeragel@netscape.com) on 3/5/99.

Kreuz Market
Lockhart, TX

Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5

Overall: 5

Reviewer's Comments:  Some people might claim that Kreuz Market doesn't have sides or sauce, therefore making my ratings laughable. However this is exactly the reason why I gave Kreuz these ratings. The quality of their meat is so outstanding that putting sides of beans or potato salad, or smothering it in sauce would be a crime against humanity. The beef is excellent as is the sausage (Which is made from left over beef and pork not served to customers). However I feel like a heathen to Texas BBQ by saying that the Pork Chops are definately the best item on the menu. Along with a couple of big red, the pre-mixed salt and pepper, and some squishy slices of Mrs. Bairds bread, Kreuz proves its dominance over every BBQ joint in Texas, therefore the world.

Reviewed By:  David Sharp ( jdsharp@mail.utexas.edu )on 4/20/99.

Harvey's Bar-B-Q
2629 E. Grauwyler Rd.
Dallas (Irving), TX
(972) 438-2454

Meat: 5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 2
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 5

Overall: 5

Reviewer's Comments:  Harvey's is a BBQ institution! It's located off of 183 and Loop 12 and is only open for lunch Mon - Fri because they are located in an industrial area of Dallas. The restaurant is an old barn style building filled with old signs and posters. It's very unique because Harvey is an accomplished whittler who has a wood shop connected to the main dining room. On every shelf and window sill in the place are very intricate carvings that Harvey has done personally over the years. The food is exellent, especially the pork loin and the smoked turkey. And don't forget to try the ribs. Some of the best I have ever had. His sauce is almost the consistency of water but is very tasty and does not over power the taste of his meat. The sides have a little to be desired. He only serves pinto beans and potato salad, both of which taste store bought. But who cares about sides when the meat is so good? I could eat my weight in Harvey's BBQ.

Reviewed By: Gary S. Parker ( gary.parker@fina.com )

Ben's Longbranch BBQ
Fifth St (near the highway)
Austin, TX

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4

Overall: 4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  I went to Austin on a BBQ tour and I was sorely disappointed in the places touted by various white yuppies, such as the iron works and the County Line. Ben's was recommended to me by a black guy talking on a pay phone. Not many white people go there, I gather, but Stevie Ray Vaughn was a fan, and it has a hardcore following. Ben's Q is smoked with pecan wood and is some of the most delicate, flavorful, and distinctive meat I have ever eaten. His ribs in particular, with the contrast between the cool pecan smoke and the peppery rub, are really something. Also at Ben's I had the pleasure of trying barbecued mutton for the first time, and I think it's the best thing after brisket and ribs I've ever had smoked. This is not the Q to have as your death row stuff (that would require hickory) but if you are serious about BBQ you have to try Ben's at some point in your travels. The people are very nice, and I love the fallout-shelter atmosphere too. The sauce and sides were unexceptional. Unbelievably cheap, too, btw -- a chopped beef sandwich is 1.35.

Reviewed By: Josh Ozersky ( josh_ozersky@yahoo.com ) on  6/29/99.

BBQ World Headquarters
6701 Burnet Rd
Austin, TX
512-323-9112

Meat: 4
Sauce: 1.5
Sides: 2
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 4

 Reviewer's Comments: I was asked recently to check out "BBQ World Headquarters" located at 6701 Burnet Rd in Austin,TX next to the Farmer's Market. Stopped by for lunch, so here's the report.

Brisket is Certified Angus. Don't know where the pork comes from. Sausage is made for them by a fellow in Cedar Park. It's a small place - inside seats 12 with picnic tables outside (mostly under a shade awning) to seat another 20 or so. I was running late (1:30) so there was only one person there eating, but they did a steady take-out business while I was there.

It's owned and run by Kathy and Duke (never did get the last name) and has been in business for about three years. It's open 10AM til 4PM Mon thru Thurs, 10AM til 6PM Fri and Sat and closed on Sunday.

Pricing is average (sliced brisket 7.50/lb, large sliced sandwich 3.89, plates with 2 sides from 5.95, no beer but homemade lemonade). There was a special 3-meat plate when I was there for 7.50. Portions are generous - no complaints there.

They offer the Certified Angus brisket, pork baby back ribs, pork roast, sausage and smoked chicken. Sides are potato salad, cole slaw, pinto beans and the obligatory banana pudding. I tried everything but the chicken and pudding. All smoking is done on what was once a huge trailer rig complete with roof, storage for everything, dual axle and a converted 500 gallon propane tank with a huge fire box attached. It is now set up on blocks with no wheels, right next to the building. He uses strictly oak for heat and smoking.

Highlight of the meats was the sausage. It was mildly but flavorfully spiced, with a perfect firm texture, no gristle, just enough fat for flavor and had been perfectly smoked. I'll go back just for that. The brisket was also good - very lean (possibly the Angus contribution) but was tender and sufficiently moist. The baby back ribs were also tasty, although they did have that characteristic undertone of having been refrigerated and re-heated. The pork roast was interesting - at first I thought it was the brisket! It was VERY lean, with the pork flavor manifesting only as an aftertaste, but again, adequately moist and tender. All of the meats had a light oak smoke flavor, nice smoke rings but not that heavy smoke flavor that results from too much smoke. All of the rubs were barely discernible - enough salt but not any real contribution to the taste. This meat is perfect for the "purist" that just wants to taste smoke and meat.

The sides were disappointing - mayonnaise-y coleslaw without much real flavor, grocery store deli-tasting potato salad and beans that could have come out of a can labelled 'Ranch Style'. I didn't try the banana pudding - as I said, portions were generous and I took a Styrofoam container with my leftovers (except for the slaw) with me. The sauce offered was very sweet with no heat - frankly, he would have done better pouring Cattleman's from the bottle. There WAS a nice assortment of bottled hot sauces that let you do some fine tuning if you wanted.

Duke said that he smoked most of his meat overnight, refrigerating it and re-heating it as needed, so you probably won't get anything fresh off of the pit. But, as I said, only the ribs had that re-heated taste, and that only slightly (and I'm pretty sensitive to it...).

So, to summarize - I'd have to say that the 'Q is probably better that 75% of the 'Q joints in Texas, which makes it better than 90% of the 'Q joints anywhere. The sides were barely average, no beer and limited seating brings the rating down to about a 6 for complete dining, but an 8 for take-out of the meat only. If it's convenient to you it's worth repeat visits, and I'll probably make it over there for some of that sausage from time to time, but I wouldn't make a special trip unless there is no decent 'Q in your neck of the woods. If you're gonna make a special trip to Central Texas for the 'Q, make it to Cooper's in Llano, Mueller's in Taylor or Kreutz's in Lockhart.

Reviewed By:  Robert Pyle (pyler@vvm.com) on 7/16/99

Jerry's BBQ
100 Front Street
Aledo, TX
817 441-5900

Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Located out in the country just west of Fort Worth, Texas. Aledo is between Fort Worth and Weatherford. Take the Aledo exit off of I-20, go 2 miles south. Jerry's BBQ is the center of town next to the Railroad tracks. Don't blink your eyes. Yee! Ha!!

Reviewed by:  Dick McMullin ( bminer@onramp.net ) on September 11, 1999.

Texas Pride Barbecue
2980 east loop 1604 south
Adkins, TX
210-649-3730

Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5

Overall: 5

Reviewers Comments: Enter Your Comments Here!!! i am the owner and i would like to challenge anyone in the san antonio , tex area to come by and try our place. i have tried bbq all over and i think we have some of the best. the so called best in texas dont hold a candle to us when you consider sauce, spice, tenderness, friendliness, and unique building. the so called best put their brisket on at 5 am and they are selling it by 930 am, we cook ours 14 hours min, we make our own sauce, beans and other sides. we take pride in that we slice and trim your meat order just the way you like it. our building looks like a 1940 country store and filling station. inside i have on display a 25 year collection of texas antiques. if you try it once your hooked.i just wanted to let folks know about us and we have been giving the so called best a run for there money for nearly 5 years.

Reviewed By: Tony Talanco ( TXPRIDEBBQ@webtv.net ) on 10/27/99.

Posey Bar-B-Que
Hwy 720
Little Elm, TX
(972)-292-2266

Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4

Overall: 4.5

Reviewer's Comments: Posey Bar-B-Que is a little restaurant in a very small town outside of Dallas. The sides are all home-made each day and are very good. The ribs have a sweet brown sugar cayenne pepper rub to it. People have to place call in orders for the ribs because they usually run out. They don't even need bar-b-que sauce because of a special glaze that is added. The meat is all smoked slowly on a pit that uses pecan wood. "It's the wood that makes it good." It is run only by Mr. and Mrs. Posey and they take pride in their Bar-B-Que. It is definitely one of the best in Texas.

Reviewed By: Brenda Shearer ( montagna@pacbell.net )on 11-1-99.

Name: Railhead BBQ
Address: Over by the Union Pacific RR yard
City: Ft. Worth
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 3.5
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4.5
Date: 5/8/00
User: Doug Herbert
Email: dherbert@ix.netcom.com
Date: 5/8/00
Time: 2:16:05 PM

Comments

I finally got a chance to try a famous Texas barbecue place - Angelo's in Ft. Worth - and was astonished to find that it was actually BAD food (which is hard to do with barbecue). But the business trip wasn't a total loss. Railhead BBQ has national class food - ribs, sliced brisket, pork were all outstanding. The locals told me that Angelo's has badly slipped (though it was still very crowded when I was there) and the real eaters all go for Railhead now. I can see why.

Name: RO's Outpost
Address: Highway 71 & Hazeyhills Dr.
City: Spicewood
State: TX
Phone: (512)264-1169
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 4.5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 08/12/2000
User: Bob Kanitsch
Email: cisco01@msn.com
Date: 9/2/00
Time: 9:47:20 PM

Comments

We recently visited our son in Austin, TX and he took us out for some Cue at a place called RO's. Cooked in a Southern Pride, it wasn't quite as smoky as ours, but really great. It's a small, quaint, homestyle place with great sides. We had beans, slaw, potato salad, deep fried corn on the cob. All the sides were excellent. If you are in the area we highly recommend a stop at RO's. Nice atmosphere and the owners visit with you at the table. Brisket was very tender with a nice flavor. Pork ribs were pretty good.

Name: Central Texas Style BBQ
Address: 4110 West Broadway
City: Pearland
State: TX
Phone: 281-485-9626
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 9-16-00
User: Rachel
Email: goldifox5@yahoo.com
Date: 9/16/00
Time: 12:45:46 PM

Comments

They have the best Q in the State of Texas. http://www.centralbbq.com

Name: Pit Barbecue
Address: 4707 Burnet Road
City: Austin
State: TX
Phone: (512) 453-6464
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 4
Date: 12/11/2000
User: Scott Smith
Email: smithmd@home.com
Date: 12/11/2000
Time: 10:59:12 PM

Comments

Please don't mix this place up with anything else in Austin named "Pit Barbecue". This is a unique joint, family-run by the same folks who served me twenty-five years ago when I was at school at U.T. The ribs are reference quality, and the sauce is so good that you put in on the beans as well. When I go through Austin, I never pass them up.

Name: Cousins Pit BBQ
Address: 6262 McCart Avenue
City: Fort Worth
State: TX
Phone: 8173462511
Meat: 5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 3
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 10
User: Darrell Caldwell
Email: shiner52@home.com
Date: 12/28/2000
Time: 11:58:23 PM

Comments

One, if not the best, of FOrt Worth's best BBQ houses. Now with two locations in SW Fort Worth. Family owned restaurant serving a traditional platter of meats and sides. Great family and great food. Give 'em a shot.

Name: Joe Allens BBQ
Address: Treadaway
City: Abilene
State: TX
Phone: N/A
Meat: 3
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 1.5
Atmosphere: 2
Overall: 2.5
Date: May 14, 2001
User: Gavin Pate
Email: mcpatrick71@hotmail.com
Date: 5/14/2001
Time: 1:05:47 PM

Comments

A first for this Yankee many years ago, Joe Allen's BBQ has slipped in stature since I have been to South Texas. The ratings speak for themselves, and the sides come in so strong because of the excellent potato salad. The jalapeno cornbread is worth a few slices as well. The problem with Joe Allen's BBQ is that he has a stranglehold on the Key City BBQ scene and has become lazy in his delivery. The brisket is served cold and the portions are a bit on the skimpy side. It's hate it when a place rides on the name and neglects to produce the top-notch product that earned them the original fame. Joe Allen's BBQ is not worth a detour, but if you are driving by it sure beats Burger King!

Name: Harold's Pit BBQ
Address: Downtown
City: Abilene
State: TX
Phone: N/A
Meat: 2
Sauce: 4
Sides: 5
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4
Date: May 14, 2001
User: Gavin Pate
Email: mcpatrick71@hotmail.com
Date: 5/14/2001
Time: 1:13:00 PM

Comments

An excellent joint, Harold's has personality to spare! The owner sings gospel songs from time to time and the place always has clean floors and tables. No worries about finding what you need to enjoy your BBQ either, there are plenty of sides, etc. to go around. The meat is fairly poor, but you get over it quickly. The sauce is very sweet and thin, but excellent with fries, cornbread, etc. The sides are some of the best I have ever had! Hot buttered corn-on-the-cob and fresh cut fries make my day. The saltwater cornbread is also worth a second bite. The service is good, though not overwhelmingly effective. If you make the trip to West Texas, cruise by Harold's for lunch and you will be one happy camper!

Name: Bubba's Bar-B-Q
Address: 210 South I-45
City: Ennis
State: TX
Phone: N/A
Meat: 1.5
Sauce: 2
Sides: 3.5
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 2.5
Date: 5.21.01
User: Gavin Pate
Email: mcpatrick71@hotmail.com
Date: 5/22/2001
Time: 11:52:32 AM

Comments

Skip the ribs, they tasted like beef jerky! The brisket was fair, nothing noteworthy. Bubba's Bar-B-Q has above average sides (try the potatoes and onions), but average meat and sauce. This is a decent stop if you don't want a Big Mac, but don't drive to this redneck town just for Bubba's!

Name: Luther's Bar-B-Q
Address: Highway 59 & F.M. 1960 East
City: Humble
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 3
Sauce: 2
Sides: 3.5
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 1
Overall: 2
Date: 6.24.01
User: Gavin Pate
Email: mcpatrick71@hotmail.com
Date: 6/30/2001
Time: 6:14:26 PM

Comments

Somehow, this chain is affilated with Colter's in the DFW area (according to my wife, who is from Denton). I found this joint to be better than expected, but nothing worth a trip.

The sausage was mediocre, as was the brisket. The ribs had a pleasing sweet taste, but the sauce was below average.

The sides were good, but then again I only had the potato salad and wheat bread.

Don't waste your time at Luther's unless you prefer to spend a bit more cash than you would at McDonald's for mediocre Q.

Name: Red Hot and Blue
Address:
City: Plano
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 2
Sauce: 2
Sides: 2
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 2
Date: March 18 2002
User: Susan Shahian
Email: GShahian@aol.com
Date: 3/18/2002
Time: 6:21:33 PM

Comments

I had inquired via the net before a large group of us traveledto Dallas, on the best place to find bbq. Two guys who review bbq there,got back to me via email. So 10 of our group of 20 arrived at 930pm. They were out of pork and beef ribs and chicken. We were given complimentary munchies and picked some items from those remaining on menu. The pulled pork was flavorless and dry. My husbands brisket was over cooked and dry. The rest of our group arrived and upon hearing that they were out of most food, opted for a steak house. The first of us shouldve done the same as I cant really believe the ribs and chicken could be that good either. Never again.

Name: Luling City Market
Address: Just West of US 183  N. of RR Tracks
City: Luling
State: TX
Phone: (830) 875-9019
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 12/02/2002
User: Steve
Email: slud55@swbell.net
Date: 12/9/2002
Time: 12:26:15 PM

Comments

Typical old style meat market/butcher shop/BBQ joint. Could be the best BBQ in Texas. Meats are smoked with post oak and seasoned with only salt and black pepper. Brisket and sausage are top notch and pork chop was excellent. This place ranks in my top three along with Black's BBQ and Smitty's in Lockhart. It is far better than Kreuz' in Lockhart or Louie Muellar's in Taylor.

Name: Smitty's
Address: 2 Blocks SE of Couthouse
City: Lockhart
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 12/01/2002
User: Steve
Email: slud55@swbell.net
Date: 12/9/2002
Time: 12:35:07 PM

Comments

Smitty's is in the old Kreuz Market space downtown. When Kreuz built their new building, name was changed but little else did. Pitmaster is grandson of Edgar Schmidt(Smitty). Meats are as good as Kreuz used to be and better than Kreuz now. Still no sides, which is a good thing. All you need to eat here is the post oak smoked brisket, sausage, pork chops or prime rib, crackers or bread and onions, jalapenos. This place is top three in Texas for me with Black's BBQ (two blocks NW of Courthouse) and Luling City Market in Luling. All of these joints are better than the "new" Kreuz Market and Louie Mueller's in Taylor.

Name: Black's BBQ
Address: 2 Blocks NW of Courthouse
City: Lockhart
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 12/12/02
User: Steve
Email: slud55@swbell.net
Date: 12/17/2002
Time: 11:44:46 AM

Comments

Been going to Black's since early 60's. It's been consistently the best overall BBQ in Lockhart, (hence the State of Texas) because Edgar Black still oversees the operation although he gave up the meat cutter duties a while back). Their brisket (small, flat cut) is typically four pounds or so vs. the big 10 to 12 pounders most places use. That makes Black's brisket much leaner than most, but not dry at all. Their meats are seasoned with salt and black pepper only and smoked with post oak wood. Some folks are so used to the typical hickory smoked BBQ that it will take a couple visits to appreciate the lighter (but tastier) oak smoked meats. Their sausage has great texture (coarse ground beef and pork mixture) that snaps when you bite the casings. This stuff is greasy but great! Their chicken is also very good. SKIP the sides except maybe the beans. All you need here is meat and the free onions, pickles, bread and crackers. Sauce is fine, but take it home for your own meat, don't mess up the great meats Black's serves. (They only added the sauce and salad bar items because a bunch of imported folks from up north kept bothering Edgar about it.) While in Lockhart go ahead and compare to Smitty's (2 blocks SE of Courthouse) and Kreuz (north of RR tracks west side of US 183). If you still need some more great BBQ, go south on US 183 15 miles to Luling. It might beat all BBQ in Lockhart.

Name: Country Tavern
Address: Hwy 31
City: Kilgore
State: tx
Phone: ?
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 5
Date: 1/13/2003
User: BBQ Freak
Email: direwolf9@hotmail.com
Date: 1/13/2003
Time: 5:10:50 PM

Comments

I've never been to Llano but I hear they have good BBQ. But Country Tavern I have visited.....often. I'm not even sure they serve anything but ribs. It doesn't matter.....the meat just falls off the bone and the sauce you can eat with a spoon. Everybody has their favorite BBQ joint.....this is mine.....Hands Down!

Name: Mac's BBQ
Address: 219 Hwy 35
City: Gregory
State: TX
Phone: (361)643-5589
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4.5
Overall: 4
Date: 01/20/2003
User:
Email:
Date: 1/21/2003
Time: 3:38:50 PM

Comments

Great all around BBQ spot. Located in a small community just north of Corpus Christi, Mac's has become a local area legend. The brisket is mesquite smoked and consistently good. The beef ribs and usually great but occasionally have a little too much fat for my taste. The sauce is full of flavor with just the right amount of pepper. The side orders are very good, especially the potato salad and pinto beans. The Gregory restaurant is the original location but they have recently expanded by opening restaurants in Corpus Christi, Rockport and Aransas Pass. Each one owned and run by one of his children or relatives. Although the food is very similar in all of them the Gregory and Corpus Christi locations seems to be the best. Monday night is “All you can eat” beef ribs. I think they run like $ 6.95 for the meal.

Name: El Mesquite Bar-B-Q
Address: 1653 Airline Rd
City: Corpus Christi
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 1
Sauce: 1
Sides: 1
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 1.5
Overall: 1
Date: 01/05/2003
User: Tg
Email: tg2910@charter.net
Date: 1/21/2003
Time: 3:49:32 PM

Comments

I tried this place a couple of years ago and wasn’t very impressed. I thought that I may have just caught them on a bad day and decided to give them another try. I ordered a brisket and sausage plate which was accompanied by a side order of pinto beans. The meat was very dry and had little or no flavor. I am not sure what brand of sausage the restaurant uses but the sausage actually looked and tasted like wienies that you use in hot dogs. The beans were typical caned beans type and nothing special. Save your money there are better places in town.

Name: Smokey's Bbq
Address: 4337 Kostoryz Rd
City: Corpus Christi
State: TX
Phone: (361)857-2313
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 4
Date: 01/05/2003
User: Tom
Email: tg2910@charter.net
Date: 1/21/2003
Time: 4:00:44 PM

Comments

I have eaten at this small Tex-Mex BBQ joint several times since they opened up about a year ago. I have attempted to try about everything on the menu at least once and have not found anything that they serve that I didn’t like. The smoked beef brisket is my favorite. It is mesquite smoked, tender and moist. Every order (even sandwiches) comes with a complimentary cup of “Charro-beans” which serves as an excellent appetizer. All of the other side orders seem to be equally as good. The BBQ sauce is a tomato based thick and slightly sweet. It makes a great addition to their beef and chicken.

 

Name: Joe's Pit Smoke Bbq
Address: 4726 Ayers St
City: Corpus Christi
State: TX
Phone: (361)851-0397
Meat: 3
Sauce: 3
Sides: 2.5
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 2.5
Overall: 3
Date: 01/05/2003
User:
Email: tg2910@charter.net
Date: 1/21/2003
Time: 4:10:37 PM

Comments

This very small crowded BBQ spot is an extremely popular stop for the lunch crowd. Attracted by the daily specials and low prices be prepared to wait your turn when ordering. Occasionally the line will extend out the door. My favorite meal is one of their daily specials. A chopped beef sandwich, chips and ice tea for $ 2.99. The chopped beef is Joe’s own creation which he mixes the chopped beef with “V&V” brand smoked sausage and his BBQ sauce, then serves it on a toasted bun. It turns out great. The pinto beans are good but the potato salad is too bland for my taste.

Name: Dusty's BBQ
Address: Hwy 290 East
City: Manor
State: tx
Phone: 512/272-8059
Meat: 5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 1/31/03
User: Sandra Farris
Email: dustybbq@mail.ev1.net
Date: 2/2/2003
Time: 6:51:49 PM

Comments

Enter Your Comments Here!!!Dusty's BBQ is a true Tx experience. Meat is cooked on open pit and truly melts in your mouth. Has won numerous awards and cookoffs. Dusty is a real Texas trailrider and knows what real bbq tastes like. You must visit and try for yourself.

Name: Smitty's
Address:
City: Lockhart
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 02/14/2003
User: Gabe Gruszynski
Email: ggruszynski@msn.com
Date: 3/15/2003
Time: 4:27:37 AM

Comments

By far the best barbecue I've ever had, and I've been to a few different establishments in the central Texas area. I've even taken it home cold and smoked it myself and friends and family agree that it's the best BBQ they've ever had, and I'm not able to get even close to the the perfection that they smoke into their meats.

Name: BBQ Station
Address: 6000 N Hwy 317 or mail to 6017 Pat Cole Rd
City: Temple
State: Tx
Phone: 254-933-8383
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 4
Date: 6-14-2003
User: R. Robinson
Email: rrobinson2@hot.rr.com
Date: 6/14/2003
Time: 11:10:17 AM

Comments

"BBQ Station" is definitely worth checking out. One mile North of the Leon River on the old Chisholm Trail, North Hwy 317 at Hogan RD. area of Temple/Belton Texas

Name: Easy Pickens Bar-B-Q
Address: 23283 U.S. Highway 290,
City: Harper
State: Tx
Phone: 830-864-4003
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 3
Date: July 5
User: Tommy Bishop
Email: tbishop@directlink.net
Date: 7/6/2003
Time: 1:47:45 PM

Comments

Real Pit BBQ. You walk up outside and pick your out meats before going in side. The meat was delicious with a wonderful mesquite flavor. We tried the beef, ribs, chicken, turkey breast and sausage and were please with each, but the pork spare ribs were my favorite and perhaps best I have ever had. They juicy, tender and big. The rub is salt and pepper. They also offer pork chops, but we did try that one those, yet I wish I had now. They offer three sauces: vinegar based kind, a sweet kind (very very different and my favorite) and a spicey tomato based one that was also very good. Sides were the usual and all were good. They offer good ranch beans free with the meat purchase. Atmosphere was clean, down home and friendly. I will definitely go back every time I am in the hill conutry. Harper is west of Fredericksburg and north of Kerrville Texas. Definitely worth a visit. They are only open on Friday thru Sunday from 11am to 2pm for lunch.

Name: Black's BBQ
Address: 19100 Glenwest Dr. #312
City: Friendswood
State: Tx
Phone: 281.486.5031
Meat: 5
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4
Date: 07/10/2003
User: Deborah Housley
Email: dlhousley@yahoo.com
Date: 7/10/2003
Time: 6:42:41 PM

Comments

Brisket, sausage and pork ribs were awesome. Mr. Black happened to be behind the counter serving as we walked in and so we received the best service ever. This meal was so good, we came back the next day to get more before traveling back to the big city. Anyone looking for great family owned, home-town BBQ just has to stop at Mr. Blacks establishment!

Name: Country Time BBQ
Address: Richards Road & Sawdust Road
City: Spring/The Woodlands
State: TX
Phone:
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4
Date: 07/22/03
User: Greg
Email: GTGallop@Charter.net
Date: 7/22/2003
Time: 10:41:33 AM

Comments

Good'ole down home country BBQ from people you wish were your neighbors. Can't beat the value on the chopped beef sandwich meal deal - sandwich, chips, and a drink - $4.50.

Name: Riscky's BBQ
Address: 300 Main St.
City: Fort Worth
State: Tx.
Phone: 817-877-3306
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4
Date: 7/24/03
User: Brandy McDaniel
Email: Kattelyn@charter.net
Date: 7/25/2003
Time: 2:25:59 AM

Comments

Okay, first off I want to let you know the ONLY meat I've had there has been their smoked bbq beef ribs... BUT, they are worth putting up with downtown traffic, even downtown rush hour traffic for. Absolutely spectacular. You do occasionally get a tough and dry one sometimes, but if you do, just toss it to the side and grab the next one. Its 9.99 for all you can eat beef ribs and your choice of sides. The sauce is very thin, and barely applied to the ribs at all (if you want more, they'll bring a bottle to your table) but adds the perfect balance of sweet and spicy. A work of art. I love their mashed potatoes, but if you dislike mustard, you will not like them. Fries are pretty standard for around here, and that's about it for the sides I've had there. I will say this though... I have never been dissapointed in anything I've had there. You get a slice of sweet onion, a pickle spear, a jalapeno, and a slice of grilled texas toast... again, pretty standard. One thing you absolutely need to try is the corn nuggets. Think of little balls of sweet corn, battered and deep fried. They're awesome and I always burn my tongue on them cause they're too good to resist even when they're still sizzling. The pecan pie gets about a 3.5 to a 4. Not the best I've had, but I've definately had worse. The service is very good, friendly, polite, helpful, and doesn't let your tea get half empty before casually wandering by with a pitcher. Also, they don't let you get low on anything else. Not obtrusive, but any time you need anything, your waiter or waitress is in easy reach .. if not already there. One note of warning, if you like a quiet meal, sit in the non-smoking section.. Otherwise the kareoke singers and live musicians on weekend nights will get on your nerves. Over all, if you're coming to Fort Worth, definately try this place. You won't regret it.

Name: New Zion Baptist Church BBQ "Holy Smoke"
Address: 2601 Montgomery Rd.
City: Huntsville
State: TX
Phone: 936-295-2349
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 08-05-03
User: TL Talbert
Email: papdadio@yahoo.com
Date: 8/4/2003
Time: 9:59:40 PM

Comments

“Praise the Lord and pass the Q” is the theme when you enter the small wood frame house that serves as the BBQ joint of acclaim in Huntsville, TX. The faithful ladies and men of New Zion Baptist Church have been smoking and serving up incredible BBQ for both the service of the Lord and hungry Q lover alike. New Zion BBQ originally started as a way to feed parishioners and eventually to raise money for a new church structure. However, the reputation of the Q spread as fast as the smoke filled the air in Huntsville and the taste buds of both saved and sinners have never been the same. When you walk on the premises of NZBBQ you will pass the pit-master who sits outside watching the prized Q and assume the position in line where you will be greeted by one of the Q ladies with the question, “What’ll it be honey?” If you are smart you will answer with confidence, “I’ll have the all you can eat, a slice of pecan pie, and a large sweet tea.” At this point you had better not linger or the Q ladies, as well as the hungry patrons behind you, will scold you for holding up the operation. Take your seat at the family style tables and prepare to be well fed as heaping plates of ribs, brisket, sausage, chicken, beans, potato salad, pickles, onions, and white bread will soon appear. At $9.00 and change you cannot beat the Q encounter that is waiting for you in H’ville. Do not be surprised if you find yourself sharing your plate with others at the table as New Zion BBQ is a family experience and all who dine have equal grabbing rights at temptation of hot Q before your eyes. Oh, and don’t forget to say grace. The Q ladies will call a halt to the chatter and eating while all bow their head and thank the Lord for what surely was the fare that must have tempted Adam and Eve on that fateful day in Eden.

 

 

Up ] Alabama ] Alaska ] Arizona ] Arkansas ] California ] Colorado ] Connecticut ] District of Columbia ] Florida ] Georgia ] Hawaii ] Illinois ] Indiana ] Iowa ] Kansas ] Kentucky ] Louisiana ] Maine ] Maryland ] Massachusetts ] Minnesota ] Mississippi ] Missouri ] Montana ] Nebraska ] Nevada ] New Hampshire ] New Jersey ] New Mexico ] New York ] North Carolina ] Ohio ] Oklahoma ] Oregon ] Pennsylvania ] Rhode Island ] South Carolina ] Tennessee ] [ Texas ] Utah ] Virginia ] Washington ] West Virginia ] Wisconsin ] Wyoming ] Overseas ] Canada ]

Thursday, November 27, 2003
Hit Counter

 
Copyright 1998, 1999  - This site, the name, it's contents, and graphics are the exclusive property of the The Pitmaster and are in no way associated with the Rick Thead Mailing List.   All rights are claimed and reserved. Web space provided courtesy of  Web site Design and Hosting Services
Maintained by The Pitmaster