Oklahoma

Need to get some equipment for catering
or competition?  Go to ABest Kitchen and Bar Company !!!

 

Mr. Spriggs BBQ
Air Depot Road
Midwest City, OK

Meat  4
Sides  3
Sauce  4
Service  2
Atmosphere  2

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  I lived in Oklahoma City for 4 years and never went to this place.  It always smelled good, but it is rather run down looking.  It looks like an old dry cleaners building.  Many of my friends swore by the place, but I had may favorite place and wasn't willing to change.  That's what I get for being stubborn!  This place is da bomb!  Great meat, full of flavor, spice and smoke!  I had the pork this day, and the beef later in the week.  Was very pleased with both.  Their ribs looked very good, but I didnt have the chance to get them.  Sides were very good also.  The kicker is the sauce!  Comes in three flavors, regular, hot, and 911.  They also will mix them for you.  There are several signs thatt say "Not responsible for damages or injuries caused by 911 sauce!"  I whimped out and went for the mix of hot and 911.  It was outstanding!  The only down side was the service and atmosphere.  This is a great place to get great Q, but I reccomend getting it to go... This is one of the few places I have eating at twice on a single business trip!!!

Reviewed By:  Wyndell Ferguson ( circlef@the-link.net ) on 11/3/97.

John & Cooks Bar-B-Que
21st. St.
Lawton, OK

Meat  3
Sides  3
Sauce  2.5
Service  2.5
Atmosphere  2.5

Overall  3

Reviewer's Comments:  The meat had over a 1/4" smoke ring, but little smoke flavor.  Brisket was good, but some of the pork spare ribs were dry and salty.  The beans tasted and looked like good canned beans with some of Gaulden's mustard glaze added to them.  The slaw was good, while the sauce tasted like a salt-free rub with a little vinegar added - it tended to overpower the meat.  Reasonably priced (dinner was $6.90 for two meats with two sides), but somewhat disappointing. Woody's was the better joint in this town, though there are four other places in town that I haven't tried yet.

Reviewed By:  Wayne Scholtes ( hcannon@netins.net ) on 12/9/97.

Woody's BBQ
1107 Lee
Lawton, OK

Meat  4.5
Sides  3.5
Sauce  4
Service  4
Atmosphere  4

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  The brisket was tender, juicy, and smokey with a good 1/2" smoke ring.  The pork spare ribs were equal to the brisket, but not _quite_ as tender.  I could easily hurt myself on a huge portion of those ribs, as they were really tasty.  Their sliced smoked pork loin was moist and smokey as well, but I would stick to the brisket (the sliced, not the chopped in sauce - which was ok) and the ribs over the pork loin.  Dinner was $7.95 for two meats and two sides.  The sides menu was extensive. Sides tried and rating:  curly fries 2;  beans 2.5; slaw 4;  woody stix (sticks of an onion and jalapeno cornbread) 3.5.  They also sell any of their meat by the pound, but I don't remember the prices.  I did think the place was somewhat over-lit for real BBQ joint feel, but it was much tidier than John & Cooks just up the road.

Reviewed By:  Wayne Scholtes ( hcannon@netins.net ) on 12/11/97.

Oklahoma Joes BBQ
305 S Washington St.
Stillwater, OK
405-377-4029

Meat  4.5
Sides  4
Sauce  4
Service  3.5
Atmosphere  3

Overall  4

Reviewer's Comments:  This restaurant is run by the same people who manufacture Oklahoma Joe's smokers.  I believe they have a restaurant in Kansas City also.  The walls are completely covered by ribbons, plaques, and trophies from BBQ competitions that they have won.  This place is one the best BBQ places in the state of Oklahoma.  It is reasonably priced and located close to the University.  They also sell  tons of BBQ equipment and supplies.

Reviewed By:  Andrew Crabtree ( AC&KC@busprod.com ) on 1/10/98.

Mr. Spriggs "Real" Pit Barbeque
3609 N. May Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK

Meat: 4
Sides: 3
Sauce: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 4

Comments: I dont give out 4's to often, but this place deserves one! When I lived in OKC, I ate at the Spriggs on Air Depot pretty regular. If you look at my previous review, you will see that I marked down the service and atmosphere, which kept the overall score down. The newer location on May Ave. corrects all these problems, and the quality of the food didnt suffer at all! The sauce is still great (I dont recomend the 911 except to the chiliheads and fools)! This place is so good, I ate there 6 nights out of the 13 I was in town! If you want quality Q in OKC, go to any of the Mr. Spriggs locations, you wont be disappointed!

Reviewed By:  Wyndell "Fergy" Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.net ) 9/08/98.

Head Country BBQ
Ponca City, OK

Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  I had heard of Head Country BBQ sauce and when I went by Ponca City I noticed the restaurant. The Ribs are out of this world. My wife thought the ribs were the best she ever had. The have several awards around to prove they can cook BBQ. And believe it or not on the Saturday we was there it was all you can eat brisket! I will be making the 200 mile round trip again.

Reviewed By: David Carr (davidsherrie_carr@msn.com ) on 5/26/99.

 

Name: odies smoked meats and bbq
Address: 201 north hiway 82
City: locust grove
State: ok
Phone: 918-479-6202
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4
Date: 12-30-00
User: odis butler
Email: odies@sstelco.com
Date: 12/31/2000
Time: 10:30:38 PM

Comments

my is odie my wife name is linda we are the owners of odies bbq we would like you to come by and try food. our pork spare ribs are rated very good by our customers. we use a dry rub and smoke with hickory wood no gas or electric. we also serve brisket,chicken ,pork, hot links ,polish ,ham and bologna.we have a good sauce. but don't need on the ribs.we think our rib's are the best in this part of the country.come give us a try. thank you for page odies bbq odie butler

Name: Rosie's Rib Joint & Steak House
Address: 8125 E. 49th
City: Tulsa
State: ok
Phone: 9186632610
Meat: 5
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 5
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 5/1/2002
User: Paula Henrickson
Email: paulah@gbronline.com
Date: 5/9/2002
Time: 10:36:26 PM

Comments

Great place in Tulsa for BBQ, Steaks, Prime Rib Seafood and a 40 item salad bar. We had the prime rib and baby back ribs and they were great.

Name: COOTS BBQ AND MEAT MKT
Address: 3529 N. SHIELDS
City: MOORE
State: OK
Phone: 405-799-1434
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 5
Date: 11-13-02
User: steve
Email: steve_hungwell
Date: 11/17/2002
Time: 11:18:16 PM

Comments

Wow! what a sandwich! I got a Famous Pork Steak Sandwich and a Foutian Drink and could hardly eat all of it. The sauce was very good.The meat Tender and well Smoked. This place is one of Oklahoma's Best kept secrets. A small mostly take out joint. Mom and Pop place All the prices there were hard to beat.Under $5.00 for a huge pork sandwich ,drink and 2 sides

Name: Elmer's BBQ
Address: 4128 S Peoria Ave
City: Tulsa
State: OK
Phone: 918-747-6475
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 4.5
Date: August 18, 2003
User: Rick F
Email: VocalSound@aol.com
Date: 8/18/2003
Time: 8:04:46 AM

Comments

One of my favorites in Tulsa. This is definitely the place to go if you're visiting from out of town. They don't have just one sauce, they have three! It makes my mouth water to just think about it! It's been a staple of the BBQ scene for a long time. To really experience this place, get the "Badwich". It be bad! Be sure to ask for peppers, onions and pickles, too.

 

Up ] Alabama ] Alaska ] Arizona ] Arkansas ] California ] Colorado ] Connecticut ] District of Columbia ] Florida ] Georgia ] Hawaii ] Illinois ] Indiana ] Iowa ] Kansas ] Kentucky ] Louisiana ] Maine ] Maryland ] Massachusetts ] Minnesota ] Mississippi ] Missouri ] Montana ] Nebraska ] Nevada ] New Hampshire ] New Jersey ] New Mexico ] New York ] North Carolina ] Ohio ] [ Oklahoma ] Oregon ] Pennsylvania ] Rhode Island ] South Carolina ] Tennessee ] Texas ] Utah ] Virginia ] Washington ] West Virginia ] Wisconsin ] Wyoming ] Overseas ] Canada ]

Thursday, November 27, 2003
Hit Counter

 
Copyright 1998, 1999  - This site, the name, it's contents, and graphics are the exclusive property of the The Pitmaster and are in no way associated with the Rick Thead Mailing List.   All rights are claimed and reserved. Web space provided courtesy of  Web site Design and Hosting Services
Maintained by The Pitmaster