North Carolina

Need to get some equipment for catering
or competition?  Go to ABest Kitchen and Bar Company !!!

 

Dixie BBQ Pit or Dixie Pig BBQ Pit
Rt 158
Pt Harbor, NC

Meat  1
Sides  1
Sauce  1
Service  3
Atmosphere  3

Overall  1

Reviewer's Comments:  Stopped by here on the way back from Hatteras, NC.  Worst damn pulled pok sandwich I ever ate.  Only cost $3.54, including tax which means I spent $3.54 to much.

The meat had no flavor at all and I mean no flavor.  I figure they are steaming the meat to reheat it which kills whatever flavor it had. They is also no smoke flavor, which makes it even worse.

The cole slaw was not good, and the house sauce that was supposed to be a killer sauce, or so they said, had little flavor to it. Sloppy Joes is closer to BBQ than this joint is.

Reviewed By:  James Moore ( mooreja@usa.net ) on 9 Feb 98.

Southland
Rt 158
South of Barco, NC

Meat  2
Sides  2
Sauce  3
Service  3
Atmosphere  3

Overall  2

Reviewer's Comments:  Had the pulled pork.  They use gas on their meat which has taste to it but little else.  Good rolls and slaw, but they are stingy on the slaw.  House sauce is OK but the name brand are better.  If it wasn't for the fact that this place had a better sandwich than the first place we stopped at, and the guy I was traveling with said it was worthy or 2 stars, I would have rated this place lower and given it a 1 overall rating.

Reviewed By:  James Moore ( mooreja@usa.net ) on 9 Feb 98.

Mitchell's
Wilson, NC

Meat  5
Sides  4
Sauce  4.5
Service  3
Atmosphere  5

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Mitchell's is a small, dumpy looking concrete block building with another dumpy looking concrete pit building next to it. We got out of the car and a fellow was walking toward us so we asked if we could look at the pit. He asked if we wanted to talk to his older brother Ed who is the owner and real cook. We said shore nuff and a few minutes later Ed came out and showed us around and talked about how they cook. They have a homebuilt cooker that looks like two large horizontal barrels with the top half hinged and the bottom sitting in a concrete block base filled with sand. They cook over charcoal and toss in some oak and hickory limbs for smoke. They spread the charcoal in the bottom half of the barrels, put some metal rods across the barrel and then put an expanded metal grill on top of the bars. We were surprised how close to the grill the coals are. They cook whole hogs, ribs and chicken. When they do hogs they put the hog in the center of the barrel and bank the coals to each side so the hog isn't directly over the coals. Then they close the lid and when they leave for the night they close down the exhaust vent and let it sit there in the closed pit overnight.

After touring the pit we went inside to sample some BBQ. There is a buffet style serving line with soul-food style vegetables, collards, squash, potatoes, etc., fried chicken, BBQ chicken, ribs and chopped pork. They chop the pork by hand. We ordered a couple of sandwiches some ribs, and a piece of chicken so we could taste everything. They dipped the ribs and chicken into a pan full of sauce before putting them on the plate. Ed's Mama is running the cash register and rang everything up.

The chopped pork was some of the best I've had in NC. It definitely had the strongest smoke flavor I have tasted. The sauce was excellent with lots of red pepper giving it a nice bite. Their chopped pork ranks right up there with Wilber's and Lexington. In fact I would probably choose it over them. Dave also liked it a lot and agreed it was as good a BBQ as you can find. The chicken was also very good, tender and juicy. The ribs were a little disappointing. They are marinated, put into the cooker for only about 45 minutes, and then steamed to finish them off. The marinade had a pretty good flavor but they could stand to be more tender and didn't have much smoke flavor due to the short cooking time. If you make it there I would recommend focusing on the chopped pork. On the way out I ordered another sandwich to go. Dave said "But we're going to hit 3 more places." I said "Yeah but if I don't get another taste of that pulled pork I know I'll live to regret it."

If you're ever in the vicinity of Wilson, NC don't miss a trip to Mitchell's. Wilson is just off I-95 just south of Rockymount.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

Parker's
Wilson, NC

Meat  3
Sides  3
Sauce  3
Service  4.5
Atmosphere  3.5

Overall  3

Reviewer's Comments:  Parker's has been in operation since 1946. It is a large restaurant that has been exanded on both ends so it seats quite a few. They used to cook over wood, but these days they supposedly start off with charcoal and then finish with gas. We didn't ask for a tour of the pit but there is a humongous propane tank out back. The BBQ was acceptable, run of the mill, high volume restaurant stuff. Edible but nothing to go out of your way for.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

Bill's
Downing Street Ext.
Wilson, NC
800-68-BILLS

Meat  3
Sides  3
Sauce  3
Service  4
Atmosphere  2

Overall  3

Reviewer's Comments:  Bill's is owned by Bill Ellis. In addition to the BBQ business he also has a formula racing team. The BBQ was similar in quality to Parker's. Acceptable but average high volume restaurant BBQ obviously cooked over gas. Bill's claim to fame is that he does catering all over the country. His slogan is served anywhere anytime one to a million. He has a fleet of 24 catering trucks including a parking lot full of tractor-trailer rigs. The restaurant is huge with a separate take-out entrance and a drive thru window. Inside it seats 850 and also has 7 private dining rooms. Go there if you're curious and then head up the road to Mitchell's for some real BBQ.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

Allen and Son
Chapel Hill, NC

Meat  4.5
Sides  4.5
Sauce  4
Service  4
Atmosphere  4

Overall  4.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Allen and Son is one of my favorite spots. Mainly because it is close to Raleigh where I have been working for the past nine months but also because they serve excellent BBQ. For my money it is as good as any I've had in NC. The restaurant is a small, country place in a rural setting north of Chapel Hill. It is frequented primarily by locals. The BBQ is cooked over wood. They even haul in the trees, saw them up and split them by hand. The BBQ is hand chopped into coarse chunks, not mushed up by an automatic chopping machine. The only thing a little unusual is that they put butter in their sauce. The side dishes are all good and they have an extensive homemade dessert menu.

Reviewed By:  Garry Howard ( garry@netrelief.com ) on 3/12/98.

Lexington BBQ
Lexington, NC
Don't know

Meat 4.5
Sides 4
Sauce 3
Service 4.5
Atmosphere 4.5

Overall 4.5

Reviewer's Comments: My wife and I had two pork sandwiches at this famous place. The first one we liked a lot. I asked for the "top brown" on the second one which was outstanding. Much better than the "regular" pulled pork sandwich. Wish I had bought a couple of more wrapped to eat later. The service could not have been more friendly. This is the second time I have eated here and I hope that I will be able to enjoy this place many more times. I can't say I was crazy about the sauce. I only put a small taste on some meat that fell out of the sandwich. My wife, who is not a great cook, makes the best finishing sauce I have ever tasted and that is what I am comparing the Lexington sauce to. Unfortunately on the drive back to the airport in Greensboro from outside of Boone, we found the placed closed.Quite a disappointment! We were so looking forward to another sandwich made from "Mr. Brown".

Reviewed By: Peter Palmieri ( palmieri@gat.cybernex.net ) on 4/27/98.

Pappy's
Route 221?
Linville, NC
Don't know

Meat 3
Sides 3
Sauce 3
Service 4
Atmosphere 4

Overall 3.5

Reviewer's Comments: Pappy's is on the north side of the highway leading to Boone. It is a small, neat place with very pleasant waitresses. The pork sandwich is served on toasted white bread with a very good sauce. In Charles Kuralt's book, "America", he said don't eat this sandwich while driving as you will have it all over you. He was right! Well anyway I enjoyed the sandwich and could have easily eaten another one but had to watch the waistline. This is worthy of a stop and I will return. My son has a weekend/vacation house nearby so I will be getting down that way every few months. The sides were ok. I just can't get used to iced tea though!

Reviewed By: Peter Palmieri ( palmieri@gate.cybernex.net ) on 4/28/98.

Uncle Willy's
Off Route 221 between Linville and Newland
Linville, NC
Don't Know

Meat 2
Sides 2
Sauce 2
Service 3
Atmosphere 3

Overall 2

Reviewer's Comments: This joint is in a general store that sells everything from jams and playing marbles. Really, bags of marbles! I had a pork sandwich which is served on a sour dough roll. The roll was big and doughy and the meat was dry and tasteless.I looked around the place looking and smelling for the pit but there was none in sight nor smell. I don't think this place is worth a stop, especially since Pappy's is so close by. However, the people were friendly and the service was good. My wife, who loves pulled pork, wouldn't finish her sandwich.

Reviewed By: Peter Palmieri ( palmieri@gate.cybernex.net ) on 4/27/98.

Lexington BBQ
Business Loop 85
Lexington, NC

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 3.5
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 3.5

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  I finally did it! I made it to what many consider the Mecca of Carolina BBQ (and some less informed "q snobs" think that means the Mecca of ALL Q). I was impressed. Most of the commercial pork Ive had was either very greasy or very dry. IF they had any finishing sauce it was very little. This pork was great! I would have liked it a little smokier but I guess that's the nature of NC Q. The slaw was different, I think it was cabbage with cider vinegar and maybe a touch of sugar. It was sort of a brown color. The hushpuppies were great! And the tea was very good also. Our waitress was outstanding and was there everytime my tea glass was about half empty! This place is a "must stop" if your in the area.

Reviewed By:  Wyndell "Fergy" Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.net ) on 05/17/99.

Hickory House
Highway 158
Coinjock, NC
(252) 453-2255

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  We ate at the best BBQ place on the way back from Hatteras last fall. When I was checking your site today, I didn't find it, and I have to add it--it was really good. It's small and casual, but the smoked pork (pulled pork) was divine! They have their smoker on the side, screened in, so you can check it out. When we first stopped, we decided that any place that smelled that good was worth a try. All their meats are wonderfully smoky, and their sauce is good. Their sides seemed to be all homemade, and their pies certainly were. We were impressed, and I think you should all give it a try if you are out that way. They are just north of the Coinjock Bridge.

Reviewed By: Katherine Hughes (khughes@us.oracle.com) on October 1998

Mitchell's BBQ
606 Ward St SE
Wilson, NC
919-291-9189

Meat: 5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4.5

Overall: 4.5

Reviewer's Comments: Visited this joint everytime I pass through NC. Great BBQ, sauce is full of flavor and the meat is sweet and always tender. The pork is smoked right outside the joint with a combo of hardwood coals and charcoal. This place has top notch BBQ.

Reviewed By: Donald A. Cook on ( sable9@worldnet.att.net ) 11/3/99.

Big J's Bubba Q
5 Royal Pines Plaza
Arden, NC
828-687-2424

Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4.5
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 3.5

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments: I've eaten a lot of bad BBQ in the Asheville area to find this place, so I wanted to pass it along to others. Stay away from the BBQ INN and LITTLE PIGS- you will leave disappointed. PERRY's in Black Mountain is worth a mention, but for some of the best I've tasted in Western North Carolina you need to try Big J's Bubba-Q. The meat falls off the bone (I suggest the ribs), the sauce is a little on the spicy side (no vinegar here), you get three sides with a plate (not just two like most places), and the service has always been very friendly. The only downfalls- you have to eat outside or take it with you, and sometimes it can take a little time to get your food. These people know what they are doing and I suggest you give them a try.

Reviewed By: Kirk Wallace ( kirkmountain@yahoo.com ) on 11/99.

Little Pigs Bar-B-Que
1916 Hendersonville Rd
Arden, NC
828-684-0500

Meat: 1.5
Sauce: 2
Sides: 2
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 2

Reviewer's Comments: This was the first place I tried when I moved to Asheville, NC. I'm warning you now...DON'T GO! You will leave disappointed. The meat is bad to begin with (poor quality, lots of fat), the sauce tastes like someone went crazy with the vinegar, the sides are out of a can (the hushpuppies that came with the meal were hard and cold), but at least the service and atmosphere where fine (it's the cook that needs replacing here). Take my advice- you would be better off to stop at McDonalds and order a McRib!!!

Reviewed By: Kirk Wallace ( kirkmountain@yahoo.com ) on 11/99.

Name: Prissy Polly's Pig-Pickin' BBQ
Address: 729 N.C. Highway 66 S.
City: kernersville
State: NC
Phone: (336) 993-5045
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 6/14/00
User: Gregory Whaley
Email: dwhaley@bellsouth.net
Date: 6/15/00
Time: 10:40:20 PM

Comments

Prissy Polly's BBQ opened their doors in July,1991. The Whaley family, which owns and operates the restaurant, have their bbq roots in the Eastern part of North Carolina. However, they currently reside in the heart of lexington-style BBQ country. To remedy this problem, they serve both Eastern N.C. Style and Lexington-style BBQ. To our knowledge we are the only restaurant in the state to do so. Other menu items include Downeast chicken breast, BBQ pork spareribs (not those dinky, little no meat-havin' babyback ribs) real pork ribs!!, Fresh vegetables, Homemade Brunswick Stew,unbelievable Hushpuppies and banana pudding that will curl your toes!! We cook and prepare our BBQ on-site fresh everyday. We cook with electric pits, but we smoke our hogs with hickory while cooking. We're open Monday-Saturday from 11:00-8:30. You'll note that on my review I gave some fairly high marks. Yes, I may be slightly biased,but I did leave some room for improvement as I don't believe we've peaked just yet!!

Your Humble Purveyor of Pork,

 

Gregory Whaley

Name: SHORT SUGARS
Address:
City: REIDSVILLE
State: NC
Phone:
Meat: 4
Sauce: 5
Sides: 3
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 3
Date: 7-1-00
User: BARRY SLAGLE
Email: bslagle@slaglefire
Date: 7/4/00
Time: 10:59:31 PM

Comments

Enter Your Comments Here!!! AUTHENTIC BBQ JOINT. SIT AT THE COUNTER AND SEE THE PORK BEING SLICED AND DICED. NO MYSTERY IN PREPARATION. SAUCE IS A SOY BASED SAUCE THAT WORKS WELL ON PORK, CHICKEN, OR ANYTHING

Name: JIMMY'S BARBQUE
Address: DON'T KNOW
City: LEXINGTON
State: NC
Phone: DON'T KNOW
Meat: 5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 8/12/2000
User: SAMMY TURNER
Email: saturner@mindspring.com
Date: 8/12/00
Time: 9:39:18 PM

Comments

I just love to go there to eat.I make the 2.5 hour drive several times a year just to get this bbq.I like the bbq slaw that they serve also. The service is great and if you are ever in the area I highly recomend it.

Name: Bill Spoon's barbecue
Address: 5524 South Boulevard
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Phone: 704-525-8865
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4.5
Date: February 20, 2001
User: Brent
Email: b.hefner@usa.net
Date: 2/20/2001
Time: 4:03:50 PM

Comments

The meat at Spoon's is always very consistent. It is very lean with just enough fat to give it a great flavor. The meat has a pleasing nutty taste. The sauce is Eastern NC and is homemade. Even though the meat is cooked with electricity, it has a great smokey flavor. The hushpuppies are the best I have ever tasted. Sides include slaw, brunswick stew, bbq potatoes, fries and baked beans. If you go be sure to get some of their home made banana pudding with a dollop of whipped topping. Spoon's is open M-F for lunch only. If you arrive later than 12:30 for lunch, you may miss out on the banana pudding.

Name: Wallace Brothers BBQ
Address: Va Exit 1 off I-77 South
City:
State: NC
Phone:
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4
Date: 3/11/01
User: Kate Mason
Email: rodkate@atlantic.net
Date: 3/11/2001
Time: 11:52:07 AM

Comments

On the NC-VA border on I-77, is is the first good place for true NC style BBQ for people headed South. The sauce is a pepper vinegar. The desserts are fabulous. A haven for those who find themselves stranded in places without decent que and who aren't on their way to Lexington.

Name: College Bar B Q
Address: Statesville Blvd.
City: Salisbury
State: NC
Phone: don't know
Meat: 4
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 3
Date: 12/5/01
User: Mary Lou Hutson
Email: mlouhutson@salisbury.net
Date: 12/5/2001
Time: 4:09:14 PM

Comments

College is my favorite barbeque place in Salisbury. The meat is flavorful, hickory-smoked, and very tender. They also sell it by the pound which can be very handy. The sides are only so-so, the barbeque slaw is pretty good but the fries are definitely from the freezer case. For some reason everyone in the Piedmont thinks they must serve you hushpuppies with their slaw, I don't know why. The hushpuppies are nothing special. Do not waste time or calories on dessert here. Get yourself a nice chopped sandwich, though.

Name: John's BBQ and Seafood
Address: 15-501 North
City: Southern Pines
State: NC
Phone: 910-692-9474
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4.5
Date: 7/2/02
User: Craig Parker
Email: bearriott@aol.com
Date: 7/2/2002
Time: 12:13:59 PM

Comments

This is TRULY the best BBQ joint in the Sandhills area! It is a family owned/operated business, with John and Margaret White in the lead, and their family all around them. No pre-packaged food here! The BBQ has just the right amount of seasonings and is served with additional sauce on the side, though is PERFECT as a dinner or sandwich without additional sauce. The pork is cooked and hand picked (NOT shredded) in house, and they also serve "chunky" style, which is REALLY good. The BBQ Ribs are the most tender I have ever had, and the BBQ chicken is VERY moist with just the right amount of sauce that it has been basted in. They have hush puppies that are out of this world, and the first place I have found that serves fried pickle chips! You REALLY have to try them, they are awesome. The onion rings are hand dipped, with just the right amount of coating to have a bit of a crunch, and not soggy inside. Though we did not have any seafood, the table next to us had a seafood platter that was HEAPING with food, and the jumbo shrimp dinner looked and smelled wonderful. To top it off, their desserts are homemade (by Margaret herself according to the waitress). They have seasonal dessert specials, with strawberries as their specialty right now. I was told to come back for a peach pounder...pound cake, chocolate, peaches, ice cream, whip cream...I give that two thumbs up without trying it! The dining room is a large open seating area with half walls dividing some of the area. A small private dining room for functions, or overflow seating as in the night we had dinner. We enjoyed a lunch and dinner there (6/20/02 lunch, 6/21/02 dinner), and though VERY busy place at lunch, lot's of people in and out quickly so there was only a couple minute wait. Dinner was also busy, there was about a 20 minute wait, but absolutely WELL worth the wait. They do a good take out business as well it seems, especially at lunch time (sorry, no drive thru). There is no alcohol served, but with food this good, who needs the extra stimulants! The atmosphere is very casual, vinyl tablecloths on some of the tables, plastic tumblers for glasses but real plates and silverware. The staff is VERY friendly even in the harried lunch time rush we experienced. At lunch, we were greeted by Margaret who seated us and brought us drinks, then thanked us as we walked by on our way out. She was a constant presence in the dining room seating people, clearing dishes, getting drinks, checking on tables. John was our "host" for dinner, welcoming us as we came in, then making small talk, asking if anyone needed anything, something to drink, etc while several parties waited to be seated. He walked through the dining room and stopped at our table once as we were eating, asked if everything was ok, were we enjoying ourselves. As we were leaving, he took a moment away from a busy register and host stand to answer a couple questions for me about the restuarant and the area. John and Margaret are certainly a true representation of the down home Southern family, VERY polite, making sure everything was to your satisfaction, very attentive with a warm smile. Even several large flower arrangements, from flowers grown in Margaret's garden! It was just like going home for Sunday dinner at grandma's house. If ever in the Sandhills for work or play (PLENTY of golf courses to choose from), John's BBQ and Seafood is a MUST! Oh, they can even ship some food long distance! (We bought four pounds of BBQ, some sauce, three racks of ribs and a whole pound cake to bring home with us to Massachusetts). Don't forget to try the fried pickles!

Name: Hanna's
Address: exit 135 south off I-40
City: Claremont
State: nc
Phone: n/a
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 5
Date: 03-04-03
User: Lonnie Hughes
Email: terry705@twave.net
Date: 4/3/2003
Time: 7:19:46 PM

Comments

Great food and prices

Name: Moore's Barbecue
Address: 3711 US Highway 17 S
City: New Bern
State: NC
Phone: (252) 638-3937
Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 4.5
Overall: 4.5
Date: 7/2/03
User: Dave
Email: bbq-porch.org@lifediversions.net
Date: 8/4/2003
Time: 10:04:13 PM

Comments

A New Bern fixture, they've been there for many many years and basically define eastern Carolina barbecue.

 

Name: Moore's Bar. B. Q.
Address: I-95 / US Hwy 301 Exit
City: Kenly
State: NC
Phone: 919 284-3865
Meat: 5
Sauce: 5
Sides: 5
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 5
Date: 20 September 2003
User: Robert Hoover
Email: Rhmail@att.net
Date: 10/16/2003
Time: 6:23:59 PM

Comments

They serve N.Carolina famous Pork Bar. B. Q. & Chicken, for which Eastern NC has been made famous. Tim Moore, the owner, was in the middle of running things and making sure the contractors were doing things right..., adding on to his building to accommodate more seating space. I had a large very tasty Bar. B. Q sandwich topped with cole slaw for lunch. And since I was making a day of it in Kenly that day, I returned for an evening meal, which consisted of a combination Bar. B. Q./ Chicken plate, served with boiled Potatoes, Brunswick stew, Hush-puppies & tea. Let me tell you, the Bar.B.Q was so very good, I wound up with three extra carry out freezer pints to store in my motor home fridge compartment for later feasts down the road.

 

Up ] Alabama ] Alaska ] Arizona ] Arkansas ] California ] Colorado ] Connecticut ] District of Columbia ] Florida ] Georgia ] Hawaii ] Illinois ] Indiana ] Iowa ] Kansas ] Kentucky ] Louisiana ] Maine ] Maryland ] Massachusetts ] Minnesota ] Mississippi ] Missouri ] Montana ] Nebraska ] Nevada ] New Hampshire ] New Jersey ] New Mexico ] New York ] [ North Carolina ] Ohio ] Oklahoma ] Oregon ] Pennsylvania ] Rhode Island ] South Carolina ] Tennessee ] Texas ] Utah ] Virginia ] Washington ] West Virginia ] Wisconsin ] Wyoming ] Overseas ] Canada ]

Thursday, November 27, 2003
Hit Counter

 
Copyright 1998, 1999  - This site, the name, it's contents, and graphics are the exclusive property of the The Pitmaster and are in no way associated with the Rick Thead Mailing List.   All rights are claimed and reserved. Web space provided courtesy of  Web site Design and Hosting Services
Maintained by The Pitmaster