Alabama

 

Smokin S Bar-B-Q
849 SE Main St.
Wetumpka, AL
(205) 567-0605

Meat 2
Sides 3
Sauce 1
Service 3
Atmosphere 3

Overall 2

My first impression was “This is a nice place, wood pile, with good smokey smell.” They are remodeling now, so they may be better later. The service was good, but could have been better (bad day maybe?). The coleslaw was great – a sweet crunchy blend. The beans were OK, but sadly, they tasted like their sauce. The sauce tasted like Catsup with some pepper added to it. Needs help badly!!! The brisket was chopped, not sliced. It was tough and had little smoke flavor. The pork was ok. My serving had too much fat, my wife’s was a little better. The texture of the pork was good. As to flavor, the best description would be that it had a smoke hint, but it tasted diluted (almost like it had water added to it for reheating). I had ordered ribs, but they weren’t ready yet. My wife had the camp stew, not much flavor, I was unimpressed. Might be worth another try later, after remodeling, and later in the day.

Reviewed By:  Wyndell Ferguson ( circlef@the-link.net ).

Country's Barbecue
5336 Atlanta Hwy.
Montgomery, AL
(334) 270-0126

Meat 1
Sides 1
Sauce 2
Service 1
Atmosphere 3

Overall 1

My first impression was pretty good. Nice decorations, good smokey smell. Sadly, it went down hill quickly! Service was lousy, and the food was worse! I am convinced that they burn the trash in the smoker with Liquid Smoke to fool people into coming in! The ribs were very dry and tough, the pork even worse. If there was any bright spot, it was the sauce. Was pretty good to hide the meat under, and the beans. I think this is the only time I've left food on my plate at a Q Joint! Save your money, and your time! You could get better Q by putting 3 week old road kill on your exhaust manifold.

Reviewed By:  Wyndell Ferguson ( circlef@the-link.net ).

Smoke House
Millbrook, AL

Meat  5
Sides  4
Sauce  1
Service  3
Atmosphere  3

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  I have tried the chopped pork. It is very good with a mild Smoke Flavor. Sauce is on the side. Choices are Mild and Hot. Hot has less heat than Tabasco Sauce. As a side, their Barbecued Beans are excellent. Has quite a bit of Mr. Brown in them. Their corn (half ear) was sauggy. Had been sitting too long in the boiling tank. Have tried their potato salad, ok. Their plate has a large amount of chopped pork, and three sides of your choice. $5.50. It also comes with a hamburger bun. Good value.

They offer Smoked turkey also. They have plates and sandwiches.

Most of the business appears to be "To go", although they have a newly remodeled Dining Room.

The meat is smoked with a wood fire once or twice each week.. From the outside windowsyou can see through the kitchen to see the cooking, chopping or whatever they aredoing while you are there.

Reviewed By:  Lloyd Carver  ( lloyd2@mindspring.com ) on 10/18/97

Sam's Bar-B-Que
3510 Atlanta Hwy
Montgomery, AL
(334) 279-0008

Meat  4
Sides  3.5
Sauce  3
Service  3
Atmosphere  3

Overall  3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  This is a small Q-Joint that you really have to look for or you will miss it!  Just follow your nose!  When you walk in, there are a few tables, and an L shaped area where you place your order.  The side to the right of the cash register is where the pit is. They burn hickory and oak, with the meat above the coals.  There is always alot of meat on the pit, pork shoulders, and sausage.  They don't serve beef, but then, this is the south.  I normally get the pulled pork sandwich (sandwich, fries, slaw and beans) but today I got the combo plate (pork, sausage, fries, slaw and beans).  My wife had the same (good prices, $12.00 total).  The meat was great!  Lots of Mr. Brown in both of our plates. Good smokey flavor, I coldn't detect any rub.  No fat, and lots of pulled/chopped pork with deep smoke ring.  The slaw is normally very good, but today was a tad dry.  The beans are great, pieces of pork and good sauce.  If you get there for lunch after 11:00, you will have a tough time finding a place to sit, so I usualy get mine to go.  A great place to go if you don't mind the limited menu items.

Reviewed By:  Wyndell Ferguson ( circlef@the-link.net ) on 11/13/97.

Chicken Comer's
Phenix City, AL

Meat 5
Sides 1
Sauce 5
Service 4
Atmosphere 3

Overall 5

Reviewer's Comments: Just pork, sauce, white bread, and RC Cola. Actually, they've added some sides but I've never tried them. You've got to like your BBQ HOT, that's the only way it comes. This ain't no Burger King, you have it their way or you don't have it. A local instutition since 1946. Written up as one of the 100 best BBQ joints in the USA. I've never had better.

Reviewed By: Jim Pittman ( jimpittman@mindspring.com ) on 05/09/98.

Red, Hot and Blue Memphis Style BBQ
Ross Clark Circle
Dothan, Al

Meat 4
Sides 3
Sauce 2.5
Service 4.5
Atmosphere 3

Overall 4

Reviewer's Comments: Good BBQ in Dothan Alabama of all places!!! I was recommended to this joint to give my review to those who recommended it. Compared to most other places in this area, this is a real find! I ordered the "Hickory Smoked Ribs", what I tasted was a gas fired rib with some smoke in it. True to my taste buds and several requests to see the pits, I found 2 Southern Pride units in the back. These ribs weren't too bad for Gazzz pits. They were moist and almost fall off the bone. I ordered them dry and they came out with a rub piled on. Their secret rub is the same as Danny Q-man Gaulden's rub except with more Cayenne pepper. Their beans are canned tasting but with some of the more smokier meat chooped up it is tolerable. Slaw was alright, not great. Atmosphere was blues oriented and tastful and enjoyable. Overall, it was a good eat even if it was cooked with gazz.

Reviewed by: Rocky Hurley ( rhurley@carbon.cudenver.edu ) on 06-16-98.

Boomer T's Bar-B-Q
205 Jefferson St.
Montgomery, AL
(334) 264-3902

Meat 3
Sides 2
Sauce 3
Service 2
Atmosphere 2.5

Overall 2.5

Reviewer's Comments: This is a new Q Joint that just opened this month here in Montgomery. There is not any inside seating, but there are several picnic tables (some with umbrellas) and a covered sitting area. He has a real nice custom made pit. The horizontal is 4' x 10' and the verticle is about 4x4x5 tall. I had the chopped pork and ribs. The pork had good flavor, lot of smoke. The ribs were rather dry and hard. The sides were so-so. The beans were heated pork & beans with his honey glaze bbq sauce added, no meat noticed. Slaw was chopped very fine and had a funny after taste. Potatoe salad was the best side, a mustard style but allas no relish/pickles... The owner is a real nice guy that was willing to talk about his pit and methods. It was rather hot and humid today and we had to wait for almost 20 min. to get our food. In all fairness, it is a new place and they may not have everything down yet. I will most likely try again in a few months to see if things are different. This place has a lot of potential if they make a few changes and adapt!

Reviewed by: WJ Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.net ) on Jun 17, 1998.

Bob Gibson's BBQ
1715 6th Ave S
Decatur, AL
256-350-6969

Meat: 3.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4

Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Q is better than most production quality Q. Portions are good, large Q plate is $6.00. Sauce is very good, it is a dark brown sweet sauce. Sides are limited to slaw, beans, potato salad and potato chips. Smoked Chicken is excellent and of course you can get the real white sauce to go on it if you like. When you go be sure you order a piece of their homemade pie. It worth the trip just to eat the pie.

Reviewed By:  Judge Dave (judgedave@bbqjudge.com) on 2/8/99

Pat Jame's Full Moon BBQ
Birmingham, AL

Meat: 2
Sauce: 2.5
Sides: 3
Service: 2.5
Atmosphere: 2.5

Overall: 2.5

Reviewer's Comments:  While in Birmingham for a doctors appointment, decided to grab some q. There are several well known places in town, but I wanted to try something less known. PJ's had a catchy slogan (Best Butts in Town) and on the portable sign they were talking a LOT of smack about "Youve tried the others that claim to have the best ribs in town, now come here and have the best" or something like that. Couldn't pass on a claim like that... sure wish I did! They looked and tasted more like they were grilled instead of Qed. Even had the crispy black burn on the edges. They were tough and had very little flavor. My wife got the pork plate, I wish I did. It was much better, but not great. Guess I will try one of the Big Names next time...

Reviewed By: Wyndell "Fergy" Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.netv) on 4/16/99.

Dreamland BBQ
15th St & 14th Ave
Birmingham, AL

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3
Sides: 2.5
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3.5

Overall: 3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Been meaning to stop here for some time, and finaly got around to it. The prices are a touch high and the menu is rather limited. A nice feature is that they cook the chick and ribs in the dining area over an open pit. We had the pork sandwich (pulled and 1/2 lb of meat!) along with slaw and tater salad (cost extra for the sides). The pork was very good, good flavor and lots of outside meat. The sandwiches are 1/2 lb of meat on a big bun and some pickle slices and a touch of sauce. The sauce is a rather thin sauce with a bit of a kick (just right for the wimpier folks). The slaw is of the marindaded variety, and pretty good. The tater salad struck me as store bought. All in all, the best Ive had in Birmingham just expensive!

Reviewed By: Wyndell "Fergy" Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.netv) on 5/7/99.

Fat Boy's Bar-B-Que Ranch
154 First St
Prattville, AL
(334)358-4BBQ

Meat: 3.5
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3

Overall: 3.5

Reviewer's Comments:  This would have been a 4, but it was just short. Let's start with the less than great parts. The beans werent that good. They were canned pork & beans with sauce and some meat tossed in. I had the impression of Manwich in the flavor (it wasnt, but the flavor had a Manwich after taste). The tater salad had good flavor but was a touch dry. The slaw was very good! My wife had a BBQ Salad. This was a big honkin salad! Big plate loaded with lettuce, cheese, what tasted like home grown tomaters, and a huge pile of chopped pork. She couldnt finish it! I had the Fat Boy Favorite (a little bit of everything). The chicken had a nice smoke on it, but to my taste too much paparika in the rub. The pork was good, pulled in big pieces. The ribs were a touch under cooked (about 1 hour more would have done it) and the brisket was good, but still had a lot of fat in it (from the deckle) a little better trimming in the kitchen would have been good... I had unsweetend tea, my wife sweetened - both very good. The building is very nice. His main pit is in an out building that had a real nice set up to it. I was impressed and got a few ideas! He also had 2 mobile rigs sitting outside that looked real nice (either home made or custom made, similar to a Big Jim without the LP option). This place is a decent drive from my house, but well worth drive. I will be back here!!!

Reviewed By:  Wyndell "Fergy" Ferguson ( circlef@zebra.net ) on July 9, 1999.

Hog Heaven BBQ
11843 Hwy 25
Calera, AL
205-668-4644

Meat: 3
Sauce: 2.5
Sides: 3
Service: 1.5
Atmosphere: 1.5

Overall: 2.5

Reviewer's Comments:  Well, I've been to Hog Heaven several times. It's a converted metal building just off of Interstate 65 at exit 228 about 25 miles south of Birmingham. It started out as Kermit's vegetable stand and quickly became a Q joint. The first few months of operation Hog Heaven served me the worst Q I'd ever had followed by some of the best "average" Q I'd ever had. The quality has leveled out since then and is now a solid chopped pork and baked beans kind of place. Plenty of seasoned hickory firing the pit. The sauce is thick and smokey, suspiciously like a "doctored up" store bought variety, but good nonetheless. If you get there around lunch you can't beat the special- decent sized chopped pork sandwich, fries and a drink for $2.99. Just don't look for exemplary service or atmosphere.

Reviewed By: James M. Leonard ( jimlen@mindspring.com ) on September 3, 1999.

JC's BBQ
Hwy 78
Jasper, AL

Meat: 1.5
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3.5

Overall: 2

Reviewer's Comments:  Driving thru Alabama on my way home to Florida and stopped for the night in Jasper,Al. Asked around the hotel where a good BBQ joint was and were told to try JC's BBQ. Bought a slab of spares, half lb. of chopped pork, pint of beans and slaw, and texas toast. Spent $23 and was highly disappointed. The chopped pork had no flavor of smoke even though the quality of meat was good. No fat but very, very little bark. The ribs looked like they had been boiled, then sprinkled with seasoning salt, then put on a grill to give them some grill marks. The ribs had that grey/white look. We were very disappointed in that experience. I should have gotten a clue when the gal asked me if I wanted the meat heated up in the microwave!!!!! The sides were just ok. Enough said.

Reviewed By: Jerry McGrath (jamcgrath@prodigy.net) on 9/18/99.

Golden Rule
I-20
Irondale-Birmingham, Ala

Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4.5
Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  This is the real deal!!!!!!!!!!! I don't like chain BBQ, but this is the original Golden Rule joint. Everytime I go to Alabama ( Birmingham area ) I have to make this stop going and coming. Buy a bottle of their sauce, it's cheap and real good. Thanks The Bruce Weeks Family

Reviewed By: Bruce Weeks  ( ibweeks@juno.com ) on 5/5/00

Brick Pit
Old Shell Road
Mobile, AL

Meat: 4.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 5
Overall: 4.5

Reviewer's Comments: Get thee hence to the Brick Pit. Open your windows and try to sniff out the plume of white smoke coming from the small hickory fire built at the roadside to attract patrons. Sweet, southern perfume! The Brick Pit is housed in what used to be a private home, architecturally similar to a double-wide, but somewhat more permanent, and, unfortunately, rather popular. Up the ramp and in you go. Your greeting will come in two ways; the first and most profound being a whiff of real bbq, and the second, a big smile and hello from whoever is behind the counter (southern hospitality here is as real--and as pervasive--as the sugar in your tea).

Slide over to the counter and place your order, then select a table and sit down. A sign by the counter assures you that all food is smoked to order and requests patience. It also tells you how long each menu item is smoked (pork, for example gets 30 hours). About the time you digest that little tidbit of humor, look around at the graffiti-filled walls and, yes, ceiling, and quench your thirst (seemingly constant in this city), your food arrives.

I have never had pulled pork like this. So soft and tender, so downright gentle is it, that you feel almost guilty about pouring on the sauce. But go ahead, because this sauce alone is worthy of kings. Deep red, almost like ketchup in appearance, it packs a sweet and spicy tang that takes a few moments to emerge from its tomato-based richness. This sauce is complex. Whoa, what a combination it makes with this pork! With dark brown pieces from the outside and gray pieces from within, all stuffed between two extra-thick slices of Bunny Bread (I saw the delivery truck), it is truly a sandwich worth a trip. I confess to being ambivalent about pulled pork before, and, I may not eat it again until I get back to Mobile.

The Brick Pit makes excellent ribs as well, with fall-off-the-bone tender meat, mahogany colored on the outside and tender gray on the inside. The ribs, due to their higher outside meat to inside meat ratio, are very smoky and are therefore not as, shall we say delicate, as the pulled pork. You will go wrong with neither.

Reviewed By: Paul Saltzman ( saltzman@tc-law.com  ) on 1/25/2001

Dreamland
Old Shell Road
Mobile, AL

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 3
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Dreamland is a nice place, with a bar, draft beer, booths, tables, and lots of neon. I heard the story that it got its start in the rear of a filling station in Tuscaloosa, near the University of Alabama. As I later learned, the neon profile on the sign is that of the original pit master, who now sells his bones at three locations, as well as anywhere else by overnight mail. A half-slab to go, please! First, you taste that sauce. Thinner, almost runny, and more vinegary than I expected, but very good. The ribs are almost black, evidence of a good spice coating, and have a definite crispy outside. The meat is lean, but with more tooth resistance than some others. Good for eating in the car. I sampled nothing else at Dreamland, but I unequivocally recommend those ribs.

Reviewed By: Paul Saltzman ( saltzman@tc-law.com  ) on 1/25/2001

LeRoy's REAL PIT BARBEQUE
5675 Hwy 43
Satsuma, AL
(334) 675-5750

Meat: 5
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 4.5

Comments

I have eaten BBQ at some of the best spots is the South including Big John's in Alvin, TX (Nolan Ryan's favorite place) and a half dozen or so in Memphis but nowhere have I tasted pork ribs as good as I have had several times at LeRoy's in the North Mobile suburb of Satsuma. The building is merely cinderblock with an almost girlish yellow paint on it. Inside is nothing fancy, except the autographed picture of former Auburn football coach Pat Dye. The ribs are slow smoked and then the sauce is cooked on to them (the way God intended ribs to be cooked). The potato salad is a winner. Being on the Gulf Coast they also have pretty good seafood for the non-BBQ crowd including some of the best catfish you'll ever eat.

Reviewed By: Amigeaux ( amigeaux@amigeauxs.com  ) on 02/21/01

Boss Hog's
Reform, AL

Meat: 4
Sauce: 3.5
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Reform is a small town between Columbus, MS and Tuscaloosa. Boss Hog's is a little stand beside the highway, but they are moving to the old D.Q. on the other side of the road. We tried their ribs, pulled pork, chicken, slaw, potato salad, and waffle fries. The pulled pork and chicken were great. Their ribs tasted of lighter fluid. All the meat was tender and smokey and the sides were decent. It took us some time to get our order because we ordered fries. It seemed like we were standing there for 20-30 minutes. Their sauce was nice and tangy, but nothing special. The prices were extremely reasonable. Not being familiar with the area, I'm not sure if this would be a top site to stop at, but if your traveling through Reform and a hunger for good Q, it will satisfy.

Reviewed By: abbytownes ( abbytownes@aol.com ) on 4-13,14-2001

Larry's BBQ
Ross Clark Circle
Dothan, AL

Meat: 4
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 4.5
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  Larry's BBQ is locally owned. There are several locations in the wiregrass area. Two of those are in Dothan. I eat a Larry's every chance I get. The sliced pork is hard to beat. The ribs are only fair, not too tender and not enough smoke. I think they may even steam them. Their best item is their beans. They have a light red sauce in them, plus some of that wonderful pork (looks like some of the trimmings left over from slicing). Get the jumbo pork sandwich with fries, and a jumbo sweet tea and you'll be stuffed and satisfied. Over all I'd say the best bbq I can get unless I do it myself. Enjoy Larry's if your in the Dothan area.

Reviewed By: RJ(  jonesboy1966@digitalexp.com ) on 05/05/01

The Old Smokehouse
Quintard Ave.
Anniston, AL

Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 2.5
Service: 2.5
Atmosphere: 2.5
Overall: 4

Reviewer's Comments:  This is a great place to eat if you are ever in the Anniston, Alabama area. The portions are generous and the BBQ is moist and tender.

Reviewed By: missy patrick ( missy27pat@aol.com  ) on 11/10/01

Name: Nick's BBQ
Address:
City: Brimingham
State: AL
Phone:
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 4
Date:
User:
Email:
Date: 2/3/2002
Time: 8:59:43 AM

Comments

I will drive about 4hrs to eat here, I enjoy it and usally buy a gallon of sauce for the road.

Name: Dreamland
Address:
City: Tuscaloosa
State: Al
Phone:
Meat: 1.5
Sauce: 2
Sides: 2
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 1
Date: Feb.1999
User: Davy Tucker
Email: twcentrprzs@hotmail.com
Date: 2/11/2002
Time: 1:20:31 PM

Comments

I had heard from so many people that it was THE barbeque place.I was dissapointed to say the least.The ribs were from a poor,starved hog.They had little meat, were scorched,had large bones and very poor sauce.You got white bread, a bottle drink,and four bones for about seven dollars.I've since tried the one in Mobile,but I won't waste any more money there either.  The place was on my have to list.Now it's on the never again list!I tried the original one in Tuscaloosa and the one in Mobile,both are for party after the game,preppy "Oooooooo let's eat at a REAL hole in the wall for the experience of it" type joint. I tried the ribs,four bones of a very poor,overgrown hog,scorched and served with a half loaf of loafbread,a bottle drink was beverage.These folks are selling atmosphere to people that are not hungry!

Name: City Grill
Address: 913 Broad Street
City: Phenix City
State: AL
Phone: 298-2345
Meat: 4
Sauce: 3
Sides: 3
Service: 4.5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4
Date: April 10, 2002
User: John Jenkins
Email: john_jenkins@agilent.com
Date: 5/4/2002
Time: 10:53:54 AM

Comments

The pork ribs are cooked in a smoker which produces juicy ribs with good smoke flavor. Excellent ribs. Try their centercut butt and chili. Slaw and sauce was OK but sauce could use a little more spice. City Grill obtained Chicken Comer's cookers and pit. Father and son are using them properly and take pride in their product. Check out the restored Black Phantom bicycle hanging from the ceiling.

Name: Sam's Bar-B-Que
Address: 3510 Atlanta Highway
City: Montgomery
State: Al
Phone: 334-279-0008
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 4
Date: 6-11-02
User: Bruce O'Neil
Email: bwojlo2@cs.com
Date: 6/12/2002
Time: 8:29:01 PM

Comments

I had heard from a local that Sam's was the best Q in Montgomery and I had to try it, I have to say first that I'm a Yankee "BUT" I have had Q from many areas of the country, I thought the meat was very good with plenty of crunchy Mr. Brown. Only mild smoke flavor. The beans were good with big pieces of meat. Being a Yankee I cant say much for the Slaw(more like chopped Cabbage) wheres the slaw derssing? Nice little place , nothing fancy, but if the food is good who cares. The sauce was the best part, the first bite I got that slight pucker and knew I was getting a home made sauce , not a docter'ed store bought. Over all it was a good find in a town with a lot of Q joints, this was my first in Montgomery and I intend to try more with each visit.

Name: Southern Bar-B-Q
Address: 3231 Point Mallard Pkwy
City: Decatur
State: Al
Phone: 334-350-0131
Meat: 4
Sauce: 4.5
Sides: 5
Service: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4.5
Date: 6-12-02
User: Bruce O'Neil
Email: bwojlo2@cs.com
Date: 6/13/2002
Time: 7:49:37 PM

Comments

This joint is located at Exit 334 on I-65 , go West about 1/4 mile on the Left hand side of the road. I first ate there after seeing the highway sign several times and finally decided to stop in, and am I glad I did. the dinning room area is small and the place looks like an old hamburger joint out of the "50"s. The Pork plate is my favorite with the hot sauce, I have tried the spare ribs and the baby backs and still go back for the pulled pork. The sauce comes in mild,Hot and EXTRA HOT!!!. ( they have a white sauce that I havent tried)Hot is on the border being too hot for me but I'm a Yankee and prefer taste more than pain. The sauce is a sort of mix betweem what I belive is apples and Tabasco. Fruit with a bite.

The slaw is something that would take a little getting used to I guess but I aint got the time to aquire a taste for it, they serve white and red style. The reason I give the sides a 5 is the beans, I have to say they are the best I have ever had. Lots of meat and a little bit of heat, JUST RIGHT. I skip the slaw and get double beans. If your traveling on I-65 Just South of Huntsville, stop in and try this place you will be glad you did.Tell Miss Moody Hey.

Name: unknown
Address: corner of 4th Street and Highway 17
City: Reform
State: Al
Phone:
Meat: 3.5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 1
Service: 2
Atmosphere: 3.5
Overall: 3
Date: November 30, 2002
User: Rose
Email: nocallteam@hotmail.com
Date: 12/6/2002
Time: 5:41:36 PM

Comments

This is a small little take out place (and as far as I could tell - it had no name)that is a little out of the way for most people traveling through Reform. If your on Highway 82, you need to head north on 17 at the light and then follow it out of town. This place will be on the right hand side of the road. All they serve is pork, chicken, and ribs. I didn't get a chance to eat the chicken (which you can only purchase whole). They sell their pork by the lb, or you can get a sandwhich ($3 for a large). The ribs can be purchased by the slab or as a rib sandwhich ($2.75). They don't serve sides, but they do have bottled drinks.

I purchased a rib sandwhich and a large bbq sandwhich. It seemed to take a long time for my order to be taken and then for me to get my food although there was only 1 person ahead of me (and they only ordered 1 sandwhich).

The rib sandwhich had 4 small spare ribs covered in their sauce. The sauce was pretty good and spicey, but the ribs were pretty fatty and tough.

The bbq sandwhich had a good portion of chopped pork along with the same sauce that was on the ribs. The sauce went really well with the pork and the meat had a nice smokey flavor to it.

All in all, if you are looking for a cheap pork sandwhich, and you have plenty of time, this would be a good place to go.

Name: Thomas Barbeque
Address: Highway 72,between Athens and Huntsville Al.
City: Athens
State: Al
Phone:
Meat: 1
Sauce: 1
Sides: 2
Service: 1.5
Atmosphere: 2
Overall: 1
Date: 8/2/03
User: Davy Tucker
Email: faatdawg@yahoo.com
Date: 8/2/2003
Time: 6:25:24 PM

Comments

Big hickory smoking pit out back,full of customers,we tried it.The meat was pulled,stringy greyish white,sort of like a mop.Tasted worse than I remembered Carolina style,even here in Alabama.No smoked taste,just venegar and boiled meat.We could not eat it so we asked for the ribs instead.They were boiled then grilled.There was sharp broken bones and hard out side,and real undone fat on the inside.Tasted very chili like.Tried to not cause a scene and put sauce on meat to try and help.It was like cinnimon,black pepper,venegar and hot pepper.As bad as I've ever had.The slaw was good.The potatoe salad tasted of way too much salt.Save your money and time!They had an 86 on the health report that we saw as we left.

Name: Jim and Nicks
Address: Hwy.11
City: Trussville
State: AL
Phone:
Meat: 3
Sauce: 2.5
Sides: 3
Service: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Overall: 3
Date: 8/17/03
User: faatdawg
Email: faatdawg@yahoo.com
Date: 8/18/2003
Time: 4:12:41 AM

Comments

Enter Your Comments Here!!!The wait was about 20 minutes to get seated.The after church crowd was leaving.We had a party of 8.It took about 25 minutes to get our food.The pork was tender,but did not have a good taste.Sort of electric machine cooked and then grilled,no smoke taste at all.There was a smell around that was like pouring water on burnt meat,though the heavenly smell of pork cooking on hickory was everywhere too.The sauce was very ketchup tasting.They had a good habanero sauce on the table that made their bbq sauce more eatable.The sides were good,the waitress nice,but the kitchen was slow and in need of a good meat smoker.Lots better than Dreamland,but could use a lot of work to be good.

Name: Lawlers Barbecue
Address: 5004 Whitesburg Dr., S
City: Huntsville
State: AL
Phone: 256-880-1286
Meat: 5
Sauce: 4
Sides: 4
Service: 5
Atmosphere: 4
Overall: 4.5
Date: 11/09/2003
User: Anna Sue Edwards
Email: annasue@comcast.net
Date: 11/9/2003
Time: 8:48:59 AM

Comments

This is a unique barbecue place. Home office is located in Lewisburg, Tennessee, where all the meats are smoked over old-fashioned hickory wood pits. There are currently 4 locations (1 in Lewisburg, 2 in Huntsville, and 1 in Athens, Alabama). The Athens restaurant has the largest store with seating for 75 and is the only location with a lunch buffet. I've had their stuffed potatoes which are incredible. They are large potatoes, filled with pulled pork or your choice of any or all of their other meats, sour cream, chives and cheese. Yes, you can even get one that has 4 different meats on it! Their restaurant is very clean and they have great tea which is one of my criteria for a good restaurant. Their pulled pork is always tender with no hint of grease. For 3 years in a row, they have supplied barbecue and all the fixings for our church of about 2000 members for our annual picnics. They provide excellent service and the quality of the food is extremely top-notch. Folks always talk about how good it is. And, to top it all off, these folks are extremely nice and easy to work with. The Huntsville location has seating for only 30 people. They offer drive-thru at all their locations, as well as take-out and will ship their products anywhere. They have great homemade sauces also.

 

 

Up ] [ Alabama ] Alaska ] Arizona ] Arkansas ] California ] Colorado ] Connecticut ] District of Columbia ] Florida ] Georgia ] Hawaii ] Illinois ] Indiana ] Iowa ] Kansas ] Kentucky ] Louisiana ] Maine ] Maryland ] Massachusetts ] Minnesota ] Mississippi ] Missouri ] Montana ] Nebraska ] Nevada ] New Hampshire ] New Jersey ] New Mexico ] New York ] North Carolina ] Ohio ] Oklahoma ] Oregon ] Pennsylvania ] Rhode Island ] South Carolina ] Tennessee ] Texas ] Utah ] Virginia ] Washington ] West Virginia ] Wisconsin ] Wyoming ] Overseas ] Canada ]


Thursday, November 27, 2003
Hit Counter

 
Copyright 1998, 1999  - This site, the name, it's contents, and graphics are the exclusive property of the The Pitmaster and are in no way associated with the Rick Thead Mailing List.   All rights are claimed and reserved. Web space provided courtesy of  Web site Design and Hosting Services
Maintained by The Pitmaster